Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: headunit fitting?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Magik_Munki's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    headunit fitting?

    anybody give me some pointers..gunna fit my alpine headunit in me car...in the instruction manual it says to be sure to disconnect the (- ) from the batter before fitting... should i disconnect this before removing the current unit too? and do i need to do anything to the car once its installed and ive connected the (-) back up? like re-sync the key or something?
    cars got a standard anti-theat system.
    im a total n00b and dont wanna do anything wrong like disable the cars security system or anything.

    cheers for any help =)

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    There's no need to disconnect the battery at all IMO to fit a new headunit

    All you really need to know is to swap the red and yellow wires around on the alpine's loom so that the permanent live and accessory are the right way round and it keeps its memory

    Anything other questions you want to ask?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Magik_Munki's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers,yes 1 more question if youd be so kind... which red and yellows to i swap? the pink ones (indicated) or the green ones (indicated)


    also in the instructions, the red ignition wire is split into two but it shows you only have to connect one of the reds up, is that right? and will it be safe behind there not connect to anything... and will the remote turn on and phone wires be safe left hanging back there too?


    thanks alot

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Those red and yellow wires need to be connected together but the wrong way around if you get what I mean (yellow from a pink indicated to red of the green indicated etc)

    The red wire that splits into two just has a spur off it for other aplications. I could tell you what it's for but i'd just confuse you

    The other spare wires will be fine hanging as they have blanking connectors on the end but for a tidy instulation I always tape the loom together with black insulation tape to tidy up any loose ends
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Magik_Munki's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thats great thanks

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Magik_Munki's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    got it in and its sounding lovely,even with standard speakers,im gunna keep them for a while.
    thinking of mounting the stereo in the "junk" holder now though..is it easy to do? i know it'll fit,but its getting the stereo loom down behind that hole. will i be better off removing the glovebox to pull the loom down?

    cheers

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quite a few people have moved their stereo down to the bottom DIN slot and it's quite easy to do.

    As you said remove the glovebox to make life easier
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. JVC Headunit fitting Help
    By SamHolmes in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-02-2013, 18:34
  2. Headunit fitting
    By Katsu in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2012, 22:32
  3. headunit fitting help
    By wee al in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 20:51
  4. Headunit fitting
    By saxo_killer in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-03-2004, 22:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •