Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Eclipse internet?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Eclipse internet?

    I am currently with tiscali and although I usually am quite satisfied with my £14.99 2.2mb unlimited service, until it took near a minute to load paypal.

    Is this a normal time for them? Its not just the paypal thing though, tiscali seem to get bogged down a lot.

    Did a google search for available BB companies in my area (there's not a lot! IV19 1HB) and eclipse came out saying £9.99 for a 12 month contract with no set up fee, unlimited d/l and up to 8mb speeds.

    Anyone got any experience with them?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You have to remember your sharing an exchange with 50 other people (50:1 contention ratio) and also maybe Paypal's website was under alot of stress at that time.
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Possibly, but most pages on AS tonight are taking an average of 10-15 seconds, and thats the ones with no pics!!

    And I am a stones throw from the exchange!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If theres 50 people all logged into your exchange bit then chances are you will experience a slow down, if its still the same in about an hour ... then either its some sorta maintenance thats taking place slowing the connection or ... summet else lol
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    tees2.2's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    5,387
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RobW
    Possibly, but most pages on AS tonight are taking an average of 10-15 seconds, and thats the ones with no pics!!

    And I am a stones throw from the exchange!
    am on tiscali an its been fine...AS pages etc are loadin up quite quick

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just took near 38 seconds to load this page from the 'new posts'

    I did a spyware scan, spybot and virus scan the other day and found nothing!

    Would it make a difference going through a router instead of a USB modem?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No not really, your line speed will still be the same and will probably be hitting the same traffic it seems to be hitting now. A router (like I use) is good if u wanna connect multiple PC's/Laptops, need wireless links or fancy a hardware firewall. But it wont make your internet any faster than it already is.

    I doubt your modem is faulty, try this:

    http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/speedtest.asp

    Test the speed of your line at the moment.
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Bollox. I did a full system scan on the laptop the other day. Its been over a month since my adaware scan!!



    BIAB!!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RobW
    Bollox. I did a full system scan on the laptop the other day. Its been over a month since my adaware scan!!



    BIAB!!
    Ladies & Gentlemen, we might've found le problemo
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its confusing having a laptop and desktop!!

    Adaware found 17 minor problems... spybot is running and I have 'registry mechanic' which I got free and it found 238 problems with my registry...?

    Macafee will be running in a while...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Eclipse...
    By dr_shabzzz in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2007, 20:42
  2. New mitsibushi Eclipse
    By Dunsy in forum Car Chat (other marques/models)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 27-10-2006, 00:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •