Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Weird one, replacing dials, white for black

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    RedDevi1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Weird one, replacing dials, white for black

    I did the replacing fine, both 140 clocks.
    But driving tonight i thought 30mph was very slow, so stuck tomtom on and tracked the speed and it was slow!

    40 was 30MPH and 80 was 70MPH!
    The dial rested at 0MPH fine and both the old black and new white dials seem to look identical (ie 6 0 is in the same place).
    Any idea how or why this has happened and to recitfy it?

    Im still using the main dash from my original black dials, just swapped the cards over. So its not like its using a different dash or anything.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I did this recently as you know , but replaced my white ones with black dials.

    I did the same but just swapping the dials and needles over and it was only when I was ready to fit them that I noticed the actualy divisions on the white cards were close together than on the black, hence they will read wrong

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    RedDevi1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mmmm the did look the same, ill have to take them apart again and double check.

    I hope thats not the case as I really like the white dials with the blue LEDs, it looks really smart.

    Im not having much luck

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yup same here - it was an unexpected ballache having to swap them back over again, but luckily the new ones had pretty much the same mileage on as my originals, so I ended up swapping the whole pod over

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    RedDevi1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ffoeg
    Yup same here - it was an unexpected ballache having to swap them back over again, but luckily the new ones had pretty much the same mileage on as my originals, so I ended up swapping the whole pod over

    You were right, there is a difference, and as the new pod is 20k more miles I dont want to use them.

    Oh well, sell them I spose!
    Any idea if the lockwood white dials would work?

Similar Threads

  1. Replacing white dials?
    By Adam_Astra in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 19:23
  2. black dials - white dials question
    By crimbo14 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-06-2010, 00:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •