Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Is this correct?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook

    Is this correct?

    This is what my boost gauge reads when the car is running........
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Meska's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    There should be underpressure (can be relatively high amount too) when the car is idling. So I think thats okay, as long as meter moves over to the boost section when accelerating

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    not driven it yet but when i rev it, it goes to about 6 - 8 psi.. take it this is normal then?
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    righty o then..

    i have just take the coupe for a wee blast along the motorway and have the following figures:

    sitting ideling boost reads -20 PSi ish.
    flooring it it hits around 13 - 15 PSi.
    settles down to hold at about 10 PSi.
    slowing down it reads - 27 PSi.
    and sitting ideling again reads -20 PSi ish...

    so is this correct?
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    astrase20's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,045
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes sounds about right. When its on idle the car is sucking air giving a negitive pressure, when your driving it the turbo creates a positive pressure..... looks about right for a standard one unless your running a remap
    Mk4 Astra coupe SE 2
    Signum 3.0CDTi
    Now Owns: Vectra C GSi

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    yeah its running a remap but its a pretty CRap one! was on car when i got it.. superchips one.. think we figured out that it was mapped on old ECU settings meaning the 25BHP gain i was to get actually only took it to around 206ish.... think it was more to just smooth the lumps a bit.. runs really nice, when i dont have daft things happening.
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sounds and looks about right. Mine overboosts to about 18 then settles at about 14 but have a decent map on there from chippeduk.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    you dancer! i have just found where the leek in the vacume pipe is.. that VX said wasnt there!!!!! its been bugging the crap out of me for week!

    the origional T piece that was fitted with DV before i got it has a Feckin tiny wee crack in it.. just took the bit out to clean it and the dirt went in the crack... new bit can be got from any car shop this correct!??
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Glasgow_Stu
    new bit can be got from any car shop this correct!??
    Possibly, or try that B&Q round the corner from you, they should do some fittings near the off the roll rope, cord and tube or look in the garden section for Hoselock Irrigation stuff

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    was just thinking that! is the T bit the same as the ones in washers? if so off to scrappys for some "spare" parts i go!

    wonder if that would have had something to do with the DV not being as loud as others!
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. is this correct??
    By slim-shany in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-01-2010, 23:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •