Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Calling All Fellow IT Techies!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Calling All Fellow IT Techies!

    I have a HP Pavillion ZD8007EA Laptop,

    When ever i hit the power button or click shutdown...it shutsdown...then will suddenly burst back into life, almost like restarting instead of shutting down...

    I have just rebuilt the git and that hasnt solved it, is there a Fix?

    Cheers Guys!/Gals!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    KrisC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,047
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Probably the BIOS holding it on.

    Try clearing the CMOS, there will be a jumper, probably near the CR3032 battery.

    The pin set should be labeled, CMOS, JBATT, JBATT1 or something like that.

    Just move the jumper over so it covers pin 1 and 2 instead of 2 and 3, leave it for a minute then move it back.

    Remember to take the powerlead/battery out first though or it'll keep the BIOS live.
    Astra SRi Turbo
    281|317

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Do you have a program called Roxio Easy CD Creator 5.0 installed ( common on HP Pavillion computers/laptops )?
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ive just tried installing Vista..worked fine...would you believe it the problems still there!

    And to the battery or cmos jumper setting..ive hand my 1yr old laptop in millions of pieces before i decided i couldnt find the jumper setting...

    This is starting to get on my nervs now...do u think if i flashed the bios it might go away?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    gRoberts's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Laptops don't have cmos jumpers/batteries that are accessable.

    Best thing to do is to go into your bios and then reset it via there.

Similar Threads

  1. any it techies
    By dave234 in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-07-2009, 00:50
  2. Calling any techies, Please Help
    By Shortyy in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 21:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •