Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Sound System Help

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    george23's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Sound System Help

    Hi all

    I am looking to run a Sub and 6 by 9s in my boot. But I am wanting to get one of the Vibe CBR subs with a the built in amp.

    To get a signal to the 6 by 9s, will i need to sacrafice my rear speakers or can i run 2 signals from the back of my Head Unit to the Sub and to the Amp for the 6 by 9s?

    Thanks
    you only live once, so live loud, live fast!!!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    DanSport16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Pretty sure the CBR comes with a built on mono amp - this will only have one channel for the sub. You can get the boxed subs with no amp and then buy a four channel amp. Power the two rear speakers with two channels, and bridge the other two to the Boxed Sub.

    HTH.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    george23's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question

    Thanks for that

    When I am Wiring in the amp to the headunit

    Do i need to get one RCA per amp, or one RCA per type of speaker, eg. one sub = one RCA and the 6 by 9s = another RCA??

    Cheers
    you only live once, so live loud, live fast!!!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    d dave's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    11,579
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Add d dave on Facebook
    Depending on how many outputs your head unit has, it'll be 1 RCA per speaker set.
    Scottish Member? Have a peep at our Region For tints or wraps Click Here!!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    astra coup'e's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,013
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    There is no point what so ever of runnign 6x9's in the boot.

    The cbr10/12 series wont be man enough for getting bass into the coupe really though as i have had one.

    There good in a small car say corsa/fiesta thou
    Gav Coup'e se2

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    george23's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by astra coup'e
    There is no point what so ever of runnign 6x9's in the boot.

    The cbr10/12 series wont be man enough for getting bass into the coupe really though as i have had one.

    There good in a small car say corsa/fiesta thou
    why is fitting 6 by 9s in the boot not a good idea?

    why is the cbr series not man enough for bass?

    what do u recommend for it?

    i am wanting a punch bass, I like hip hop, rap and dance.

    Many thanks so far tho, its all help me get the system i want.

    cheers
    you only live once, so live loud, live fast!!!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    d dave's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    11,579
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Add d dave on Facebook
    If you really want 6x9's then fit them to the rear quarters like I have.
    Scottish Member? Have a peep at our Region For tints or wraps Click Here!!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    george23's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    do you have a pic of the 6 by 9s in the rear quaters?

    is it easy to fit? or is there some body alts required?

    cheers
    you only live once, so live loud, live fast!!!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    d dave's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    11,579
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Add d dave on Facebook
    I needed to modify the surrounding area due to the size of the magnet on the 6x9 I have so I'd say its depending on which make you go for.
    Scottish Member? Have a peep at our Region For tints or wraps Click Here!!

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    george23's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just realised

    i prob wasnt clear on my plans, i was wanting to put the 6 by 9s in a MDf shelf that i will make. maybe you all knew that, but if not, does that make it easier to fit them?

    my bad on lack of english skills

    cheers
    you only live once, so live loud, live fast!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sound system
    By jamesm14 in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-12-2009, 21:30
  2. sound system in a cab?
    By lynds in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 01:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •