Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

No sound from new amp install

Hi,

I'm new at this and have run out of ideas.

I have installed the amp power, earth and remote lead. The light comes on when the Head Unit is switched on but I am getting no sound from the speakers.

I have checked the gain on the amp, made sure it is not switched to bridge and checked the phono leads to make sure they work.

What else is there to check? Can I put a multimeter on the Head Unit phono out sockets to check if there is any voltage?

thanks,

/Mad

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the fuse make sure it aint blown ?
    18/16v mk 4 astra saloon bmc cda a Ffoeg special veccy pipe full catback system full entainment system 17inches lowered 40mm all round

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks for reply.

Main fuse is ok, both fuses on amp are ok. Amp power light is on.

But the amp is stone cold, no heat at all. It is 2nd hand, could it be dead, or could my head unit not be outputting to the phono?

thanks,

Status
    the man in the boat
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    is the phono leads right in on the back of your head unit

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes,

the phonos are in tight, but I will double check that (ticking those boxes).

I only have 1 speaker wired into the amp, this won't make a difference will it?

Annoying as it all is, at least all the wiring is done and if there is a problem with the amp, it is a 5 min job to replace.

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The only things that i can think of is a faulty amp like u stated or there being a settin ont he HU its self.

Dont Turn the Gain All the way down other wise you wont hardly be able to hear anything.