Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: bloody amp power wire

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    djmesh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    bloody amp power wire

    i cant find anywhere to poke the power wire through the bulkhead, iv tried looking as in the FAQ but cannot see a gromit. am i going to have to drill a hole?i really dont want to do this as the only place i can see is behind the power steering resivoir, and i can see me drilling through it. any ideas?

    cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if its a mk4, have a look at the 'TC switch fitting guide'

    There is a grommet on the drivers side

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    djmesh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah it is a mk4 club. i cant seem to see this gromit.lol. does anyone have any pics?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    RobW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    there's pics in the how2 in the technical forum.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    SRI-T Keithy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,745
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Take the cover off above the pedals, Its above and to the right of the acclerator pedal, its about the size of a 50 p piece

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    djmesh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    iv had a look and still cant see it like in the pic. do all mk4's have them?mines only a 1.6 8v club.

    cheers

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    craig20102010's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    349
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi,

    im going to be doin the same Very shortly installing a power cable i known about this slight hiccup for a while now. just never been bothered to get round to it.

    ive taken some pictures of the area behind the glove box for drillin the hole as i think its going to be the best option. but i still need to ask questions as well.

    The grommit is pretty hard to see to be honest i cant really see mine or dont think ive seen it lol. Not sure what i seen was the grommit or not. ill post all my pics in about 20 minutes to try get some help with it.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    also it depends if you have a throttle cable or drive by wire if its throttle cable the gromit is used but i dont know what engine code yours is

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    djmesh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    x16 szr is mine, i think its a cable im going to have to take it to an ice installer

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if its throttle cable i think the throtle cable goes in that grommit it looks like your drilling a hole then mate

Similar Threads

  1. Power Wire Hole?
    By m4rk2.2sri in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2009, 12:00
  2. Need to get wire to power supply!!
    By Kev in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-02-2004, 21:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •