Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Head unit not responding

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Jon's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Angry Head unit not responding

    I've got a Kenwood KDC-W707 head unit which has a D-MASK facility. I was doing some work on my car earlier today and disconnected the negative battery terminal. When I re-connected it, the D-MASK had flipped back on itself even though the panel is actually detached. I've tried pressing in the correct corner of the unit to get the thing to turn round but it isn't having any of it.

    Is this some kind of built in security measure that Kenwood have put in place? If you've got any ideas, please let me know as I'm about to pull my hair out here!

    Why are things with cars never straight-forwards!!!
    MK4 Club 1.6 8V

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I could be wrong on this but.... There should be a small blue keyfob style remote for the HU, with a single button on it, you have to point it at the HU and press the button and this will then reactivate it. It's an anti theft thing, unless you have the blue keyfob its not worth stealing the HU itself.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Duff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    surely u need the face reattached the face plate

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have that same head unit. It's never done that to be honest, the odd time it forgets to flip the facia over when I start the car, but it still plays away merrily until I restart the car. Then again, I very rarely remove the facia anyway, as it's well hidden by the D-Mask.

    I suggest you might want to try disconnecting the battery again, and see if that helps. Pressing the back of the facia cover without the facia on won't do anything, as the wee button isn't there if you see what I mean.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    GT/R2's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    check your in line fuses and make sure they are all in tact. then disconnect and reconnect one of the power wires from your stereo. this should flip it back. if not then there should be a reset button on the facia of your stereo try pressing that i'll try and find my manual!!!
    Never wee in a hurricane if you don't know how to duck!!!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Jon's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers for your help on this everyone. I ended up disconnecting the unit and re-connecting it a few times and suddenly it came back to life! I think the unit just got into a rut and needed power to be removed to reset everything.

    I'm just so glad there was nothing permanet wrong!
    MK4 Club 1.6 8V

Similar Threads

  1. Head unit
    By 1st vxr in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-07-2006, 18:35
  2. What head Unit do you have and why?
    By Ross Martin in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 25-02-2004, 16:01
  3. Best Head Unit for £300
    By Ross Martin in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-12-2003, 02:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •