Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Another PC Question...

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Another PC Question...

    Just re-installed XP on a sony vaio laptop...but the buttons don't work...

    i.e. the buttons that control Vol +/-, mute and brightness etc...

    Anyone have any idea how to make these work?

    I've already downloaded and installed the official driver and utility pack off the Vaio site but that hasn't fixed it

    Thanks in advance


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Silly question bit do you not need to press a function key to use these controls... Also waht model is it?
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    model is VGN-A115B

    its not the Function key style buttons...i have those on my Acer but its different on the Sony I believe

    Its the buttons between the keyboard and the screen...also the CD eject button doesnt work...have to use the manual override for that


  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Give this a try:

    1: Uninstall the following and reboot:

    Hotkey Utility
    Sony utilities DLL

    2: Download the following - www.astracoupeturbo.co.uk/hotkey.zip , unzip it and install in the following order:

    SONY SHARED LIBRARY - Reboot after this

    SONYUTILS

    HOTKEY - Reboot after this

    Let me know if this solved it and as always, I am not responsible for any problems this help causes if any!
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    lol@disclaimer

    giving that a go now...


  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    didnt work

    the last step when installing Hotkey...i press setup and the loading bar comes up but it doesnt install i dont think...?


Similar Threads

  1. Quick Question..Curious Question regarding Vauxhall
    By trez in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-09-2008, 23:52
  2. Tyre Question + Lowering Question
    By dp88 in forum Chassis
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-05-2008, 20:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •