Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Should i remove my veccy c intake??

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    AstraGSI Mark's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    246
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Should i remove my veccy c intake??

    My car is booked in at the dealers on friday to have a problem sorted out. The revs drop, air con goes off, coolant light comes on along with the eml but this eventually goes out. I don't know if i'm imagining it but it seems to be happening more since fitting the veccy c intake as it did before. My car had a new ecu under warrenty but it never fixed the problem. Revs kept dropping and sometimes the engine stalled. Could something else be at fault, boost control solenoid, afm?

    Any help would be appreciated

    Thanks Mark
    Astra Gsi Turbo, Courtenay Stage 2, Pre Cat, Miltek Cat Back.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Darren SXi 1.8's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3,347
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Don't remove it, I personally wouldn't, not a huge difference and to be honest, will they notice...

    Air mass sensor?
    Irmscher parts irmscher-bits.com
    ask 4 Dave & mention Darren SXi 1.8 sent u!

    Performance Vauxhall Show 'A-S Cleanest Car' 2006

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    MarkyG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the vectra intake wont do that, if they say anything say the parts desk gave you when you asked for an astra one.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Nicko_12345's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,478
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I would mate to make sure, no point risking it for 5 mins is there
    MR2 MK2 G-Limited
    ASTRA LINEA ROSSA

  5. #5
    Status
    Online
    dodger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Nicko_12345
    I would mate to make sure, no point risking it for 5 mins is there
    The trouble is IRC it is not a five minute job as getting access to remove the pipe and fit the standard one.

    I would of thought that this would cause your problems it is only an air intake.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    craig20102010's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    349
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    dont think there is a chance that the veccy C intake pipe would be causing that problem. Mine been working fine and i recon its just a coincidence that its started happening since u fit it.

    i would take it off just to be sure so that they cant say that, that is the problem since it obviously aint.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Clemo SXi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,575
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    make sure all the jubillee clips holding everything on from the air box to the throttle body are all tight, I had a similar problem, but after noticing that the pipes by the air sensor switch (make sure thats in tight too) was lose, tightened em all up and wahey!!!
    I'm after another Coupe Turbo

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Gez G's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    636
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ive had AFM probs etc and I put the car into the dealer with the vecy c pipe on, they never said anything, replaced afm under warranty.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    AstraGSI Mark's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    246
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    think i'll just leave it on then, trouble is the car is out of warranty by a couple of months but this problem should of been fixed the last 3 times the dealer had my car, still got the same symptoms!! Been on to customer care and got booked in with a different dealer. Been told that if it is the same problems as before i should be covered and will only have to pay the initial diagnostics test, i really hope this is the case, last thing i need right now is a big repair bill!

    Thanks for all your replies, Mark
    Astra Gsi Turbo, Courtenay Stage 2, Pre Cat, Miltek Cat Back.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •