Thread: Where did the water go?!

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Unhappy Where did the water go?!

Hello, have'nt posted for a while but now I'm really needing some help!!

Noticed the other day that my temp gauge (1.7 tdi envoy van) was higher than normal (about half way up) and kept quickly going up and down between the quarter and halfway marks and that I could'nt get the fan in the cab to blow cold.

Anyway I had a look under the bonnet the next morning and found that almost all the water had gone from the header tank, so I filled it back up and went for a test run, but had to come back when it started screeching constantly.

At this point I remembered that about a week ago I noticed I could smell something getting very hot, but did'nt notice the temp gauge going up more that half way.

I've no experience with cooling systems at all and don't know where to start.

regards
    -Dex
    Bass: More = Better
    www.talkaudio.co.uk

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Whats the water level like after a spin? Notice anything coming out the exhaust? Take the oil cap off and have a look at its underside, anything there? Is the oil clean on the dipstick? Also dyou notice any puddles under the car, or steaming\spitting\hissing when the engines running or immediately after you turn it off? Definitely check for water leaks tho...
    Astra 1.8 SRi, Z18XE, 5 Door, Star Silver ---RIP 18/12/2006---
    Vectra B 2.0 DTi LS

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    1.7DTi losing water will be either head gasket or water pump. Either way it's not going to be a cheap fix.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)