Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: what size of amp do i need to run a...

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Dunsy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,449
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    what size of amp do i need to run a...

    800Watt Sub?

    Any help is much appreciated.

    i want a crisp sound nothing too loud but i want to be able to turn it up...would 600Watt be suitable?
    EK9 Type R

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    is the sub 800w max or RMS, don't want a 600w RMS amp powering a 800w max sub as it will blow it to bits

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As a rule an 800watt RMS sub needs an 800watt RMS amp.
    Just make sure your dealing with RMS and not MAX.

    John
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a nice BIG amp for sale if your after one

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    How big Lee, could be interested if dunsy isn't

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I was under the impression its better to over power a sub with an amp rather than undr power it???

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I brought my Audiobahn amp as I thought it was 2 channel by mistake.

    Its a mono sub amp so will run 1 or 2 subs depending how they are wired up.

    If you wire 1 4 ohm (What most subs are) then you will get 400w RMS (Not max figures like most quote)

    Or if you wire 2 subs together you will get 800w RMS

    It was used for about 4 weeks only and comes with the fitting gloves and window sticker, Its also still boxed and includes all the booklets it came with.

    Notice the conections on the amp are proper screw down type and not the spade style ones found on lesser quality amps.

    I want £200 for it



    Product Features



    * Audiobahn A8000T
    * Class A/B MOSFET Circuitry
    * PWM MOSFET Power Supply
    * double-sided Glass Epoxy Circuit Board
    * THD: 0.02%
    * S/N Ratio: >100dB
    * Frequency Response: 10Hz - 40KHz (+/- 1dB)
    * Variable 18dB Hi-pass Crossover: 50Hz - 750Hz
    * Variable 18dB Low-pass Crossover: 50Hz - 120Hz
    * Bass boost on / off
    * Subsonic Filter: 20Hz - 50Hz
    * RCA Throughput Connections
    * 3-way Protection Circuitry: Thermal, Short Circuit and Overload
    * Cooling Fan
    * Cobalt Blue Illumination
    * High Gloss Chrome-Plated Finish
    * Air Induction Fan Cooled
    * RCA and Speaker Level Inputs
    * Nickel-Plated Block Terminals
    * 400W x 1 @ 4 Ohms mono, 800W x 1 @ 2 Ohms mono.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    thats nice, bit too powerfull for the alpine type R sub i'm looking at getting. Might be interested if you can find me a decent 800w 2ohm sub for less than £130?

    Sorry for Hi-jack!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Dunsy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,449
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    haha its orite lads no problems

    i got the information i needed anyway cheers guys
    EK9 Type R

Similar Threads

  1. Full Size Spare Size
    By Chewy. in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 18-02-2013, 11:40
  2. Size of mk4 Rear Bake Drum, Pipe nut size?
    By stu2525uk in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-08-2011, 19:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •