Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Launch/Trigger Cable off the OEM Vauxhall CD Stereo

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Launch/Trigger Cable off the OEM Vauxhall CD Stereo

    Is there any way I can rig a trigger cable up to my amps and sub that i have sat in my garage...(left over from my old car) that i now wanna put in mine...

    The OEM Stereo in question is a CDR 500, i can do the rest just wondered if theres anyway i can trigger the amps??

    Also where under the bonnet of the astra do i feed the power cable?

    Is there a known Gromit?

    Cheers Folks!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I take it you mean the remote wire, If so just connect it up to a +12v ignition wire (the yellow one behind the sterio I think) that should do the job.

    For the gromit, I just used the existing one for my alarm, but there is apperently a known one behind the throtle pedal. I think there is somthing in the how too's but not 100% sure.
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers Mate,

    Will have a look!!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I love playing with wires, so if you want a hand finding a sutable +12v cable (one thats only on with the ignition switched on) I will bring my volt sensor with me on sunday to the meet.

    Just bring your HU release keys (metal coat hanger job).
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I used to love playing with wires to mate...

    Until on my VW Polo i was trying a headunit out for size, shorted a wire and blew the ignition barrell into tiny little bits...

    Thus my polo went no where...

    Since then I've tredded very carefully round car electrics lol!

    But yeah i will whack a few tools in me car for sunday...

    Thats if the meet still goes ahead!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorry to interupt, tell me to get lost if im wrong, but i didnt think the OEM stereos had RCA outputs, or are you using an amp with high level inputs?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    O shit!!

    Yeah good point O well thats that idea scrapped!

    Thanks V Much for that!

    Saved me alot of work lol!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    But you can get converters that change the speaker outputs to RCA

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yea convertors are an option, although not sure if you'll loose a channel or not! or if they just go in parallel with the speakers, and if they do go in parallel wether that would change the impedance of the speakers and/or the line! something to find out before you go scraping the idea! lol

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just spend a hundred and thirty notes on a new HU
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. help with cd30 stereo and aux cable please
    By Gez08 in forum Interior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2014, 22:03
  2. Vauxhall Tigra Clutch Cable
    By coopey in forum Car Chat (other marques/models)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 09:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •