Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Alarm to work with Mk4 deadlock remote

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    robbie601's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Alarm to work with Mk4 deadlock remote

    I'm sure this question's been asked before but I want to fit an alarm to my Mk4 Astra, working off the manufacturers remote on deadlock.
    Any advice and rough prices on the best to go for ?
    I've seen a Toad A850T for about £140, is this any good ?
    Astra Elite 2.0 CDTi

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I'm guessing you have seen that alarm for a buy only rather than supplied and fitted? Anyway Toads a very good make but remember to meet the approval you need it fitted by a expert

    Personally I recomend Sigma alarms all the time and the S32 is the same as the one you have there
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    robbie601's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The S32 is the same as the Toad ?
    Astra Elite 2.0 CDTi

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    No although the alarms comes from the same place inside they are tottaly differnent but they do the same thing
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    robbie601's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If I was to buy this or the Toad, could you advise me on the wiring to my Mk4 please ? i.e. I assume I'm going to have to get the loom from the engine bay into the back of the glove box. Is it easy to get through the bulk head on the passengers side ?
    Also where would you run the main power from. I've always cheated in the past and run the 12v live to the battery but assume that's not that secure..... ?

    Cheers in advance
    Astra Elite 2.0 CDTi

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I could give advice on wire colours on the car but you need some electricial knoledge in testing them

    Fitting it yourself wouldn't make it thatham 1 approved though

    I'll just edit this big time

    Just seen you have a MK5........

    These are a complete pain in the arse to fit a alarm to and there's only one alarm i'd recomend to fit to one and that would be the Cobra can-bus alarm

    Basically every wire will be hard to get at and your likely to have to go to all 4 corners of the car just for the indicators and thats before you look into door pin switch pickups and motor pulse wires
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    robbie601's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's not a Mk5 is an '05 Mk4 so shouldn't be too bad ?
    Astra Elite 2.0 CDTi

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    No thats not to bad at all, I can fit a alarm to one in about 2 hours

    Sorry paniced there a bit
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    robbie601's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers, may well come back to you for advice as I want to fit a sat nav top console and 5" screen to monitor my baby in the rear seat.
    Astra Elite 2.0 CDTi

Similar Threads

  1. Alarm going off everytime i deadlock the car.
    By XZiZTeNCe in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-01-2013, 00:13
  2. Which alarm to work on deadlock
    By robbie601 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-2005, 23:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •