Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Astra Knocking Noise

Hi Folks

I am new to the Astra after getting rid of my Corsa about 18 Months ago and deciding to go back to VX as the Peugeot I had was a bag of spanners and cost me a small fortune to maintain.

Anyway Ive bought a nice SXI which has been tastfully modified. The only issue with it is an annoying rummble / rattle / knocking from the rear as if something is loose. Ive had the exhuast checked to see if it was that but it was fine. It seems to be when the car is in motion and on uneven road. Even the slight road inperfection seems to make it happen.

The car has been lowered and has sports shockers on it although cant read label without popping the car on a ramp.

Any ideas? much appreciated!

Stefan

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Broken rear springs?. Common fault on OE springs but not heard of it much with aftermarket ones. The Sxi is already lowered -20mm, you sure it's not still on OE springs. They used to break the bottom coil on the spring.
    52 Astra G 1.8, 18" Mille Miglia alloys, 325mm Brembo 4 pot conversion, Coupe leather interior, Raid strut brace, Whiteline rear ARB, Irmscher bits (skirts, Carbon steering wheel, Bonnet extension, M3 mirrors, boot & roof spoiler), Reiger Rear Diffuser & Front Bumper, Koni Adj. dampers, 35/30 Vogtland springs, Duplex quad exit ASCAR stainless exhaust.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You sure its not just the parcel shelf rattling cos that does it in mine? I jus just cancel it out with my music tho, shud really get round to stopping it. Dont mean to hijack the post octo but has anyone else sorted out the rattling of their parcel shelf?
    Adam

Black 1.6 SXi Astra MK4

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)