Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fitting new airbags

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mark_dj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,728
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Fitting new airbags

    Today I will be fitting my new airbags for the Astra Mk4 Turbo car, as the old ones went off. I have the passenger and drivers one to fit. I also have the airbag Ecu to fit. Do I need anything else? Ie the spool under the steering wheel, mine opened up the other day and the middle all fell out, I then put it all together again, I just hope it's ok. I have never needed to change airbags before so will it go ok when I do this? I know I need to disconnect the cars battery first. Cheers for any info. Mark

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    kirsty's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,052
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No need to disconnect the battery, just make sure the keys are not in the ignition... then undo
    Evil LED's

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mark_dj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,728
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have just put the air bags in and the ecu for the airbag has a different plug on it than the one that was originally in the car. Will the airbag light go off still when it is put on the tech 2 computer?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    kirsty's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,052
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the airbag has a different plug on it than the one that was originally in the car. Will the airbag light go off still when it is put on the tech 2 computer?
    Not sure about the different plugs, but I would imagine the light will go off
    Evil LED's

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the light will keep coming on if you dont have one plugged in everytime its turned on i think.

    you know your airbag control unit by the handbrake, what colour is the plastic surround? i need one with a brown plastci bit as my old one doesnt fit
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mark_dj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,728
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The one on my Turbo is brown as standard. The one I got with the new airbags is green and it won't fit. Looks like I will leave them unplugged til I get some more info on this. Thanks

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ahh ok looks like i need a brown one then!
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    zed_sxi's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi this is my first post i need to do the same to my car could you tell me what you exacley done whilst changing the airbags and did you change the whole dash

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    sxi boy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,420
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think he did change the dash mate.

Similar Threads

  1. fitting curtain airbags to coupe?
    By astra 2.0 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2013, 23:36
  2. mk5 airbags
    By fisher1 in forum Interior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 14:55
  3. Anyone know anything about fitting airbags?
    By dr_shabzzz in forum Chassis
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-03-2007, 13:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •