Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Mk5 Oil Temp Gauge

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Mk5 Oil Temp Gauge

    Why dont they have them?
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    coz they dont have oil


    lol only jokin,


    that surprises me that they dont have oil temp meters, how are you supposed to know if ur oils cold, warm, hot or overheating
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    BenC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,574
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Turbo_Scott
    Why dont they have them?

    same reason mk4's and mk3's dont...
    Corsa C LEH 4x4?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BenC
    same reason mk4's and mk3's dont...
    Mine does.

    My mates 1.8 does, my mates 2.2 does ...
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Vxcoupe16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    your clearly talking about water temp gauges not oil temp, its rare that a car has an oil temp gauge, and the reason it doesnt have 1 is because if the temp gets to high it will jus put a light up on the dash and show a warning on the trip computer

  6. #6
    SXi Stu
    SXi Stu's Avatar
    because the mk5 is always cool

    It does come up with a warning on the Trip if the temp sensors pick up an increase over safe working temperatures. Also there is a way of getting the temp to come up on the MFD by pressing a few different buttons in a specific order, can find out if the exact order anyone is interested??

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Jom's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    557
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SXi Stu
    because the mk5 is always cool

    It does come up with a warning on the Trip if the temp sensors pick up an increase over safe working temperatures. Also there is a way of getting the temp to come up on the MFD by pressing a few different buttons in a specific order, can find out if the exact order anyone is interested??

    it would be nice to have all the temps up one one screen i've found the coolant temp but some turbo readings would be nice
    Regal tuned Astra VXR.

  8. #8
    SXi Stu
    SXi Stu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jom
    it would be nice to have all the temps up one one screen i've found the coolant temp but some turbo readings would be nice
    certainly would fella, I've been thinking of doing a pod in that panel behind the alarm senors in the roof and having them angled towards the driver, can really think of anywhere else to put them that would look standard.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    MattR32's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,074
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I also miss a temp guage.
    Any car for the "enthusiast" needs a temp guage,preferably oil AND water.
    You need to know then the car's warm enough to start giving it some.

    Naughty Vauxhall.
    Ex Golf R32, now mk5 Astra Estate 1.9CDTi (150PS, 232ftlb) Design on fat alloys.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    BenC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,574
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Turbo_Scott
    Mine does.

    My mates 1.8 does, my mates 2.2 does ...


    what?? has an oil temp gauge fitted as standard.



    Rap up...
    Corsa C LEH 4x4?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. temp gauge
    By jonsigsworth in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2013, 21:48
  2. Temp Gauge - Fluctuating readings / struggling to build temp
    By Andy_888 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2012, 02:50
  3. Temp gauge
    By kinsella in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-08-2007, 09:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •