Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Does anyone on here still use Dial up (56k) ?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ADY JONES's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    432
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Does anyone on here still use Dial up (56k) ?

    I have seen people post pics and had 56k beware on there thread title. So i was just wondering how many people on here are still using dial up ?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have my own 2mb BT ( using now ) and work had kindly installed 4 additional lines in my house each with 2mb then bonded to 8mb for me to be able to do remote management easier ( and to download shit )
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    10mb broadband for me

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    8Mb ADSL. Or, it will be next month when BT get round to upgrading it. 2.2Mb at the moment.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dualfuel_1.8sxi's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I can't see the need for anything greater than 2Mb. Can do everything with that as far I can see. BUT saying that, the broadband wars have started so if you can get say 8Mb for the same price as 2, then why not I suppose!!

    Dial-up really is hopeless these days.
    2003 Astra 1.8 SXi & 2005 Zafira GSi

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Al's Avatar
    Turbo Jizz Golfer !
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,200
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ive asked this question before but noone owned up, so i guess not

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    SimonP's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,079
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've had broadband for about 4 years now. Agreed, unless you have a very powerful computer, then 2MB is more than adequate as your computer won't really be able to process any quicker than what's being sent to it.
    CRAP SIGNATURE

    Quote Originally Posted by MatG
    really liked the UV corsa and I think its a shame it never got finished, and is not just rusting away

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    But having a faster conection means you can download quicker.

    For everyday use yes 1 meg is fine,

    They are doing speed test's in my area and I have been downloading at a steady 2000 KBs so its taking only seconds to download an album or about 2-3 hours to download a film

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ive dial up at home when my parents let me use it that is
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    rusty's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,511
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lee gsi
    I have been downloading at a steady 2000 mbps so its taking only seconds to download an album or about 2-3 hours to download a film
    pmsl.... why do i think you didnt mean 2000 mbps
    My car - Rusty Custom Creations Inc....

    The only natural pilots are born with feathers.... except me.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My new dial ;D!
    By Willeh in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 01:18
  2. dial kit?
    By afcbadam in forum Interior
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 20:58
  3. Dial
    By astracrazy in forum Interior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-05-2009, 17:18

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •