Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: A-Pillar gauge pods on a mk4 GSI

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Rich GSI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    A-Pillar gauge pods on a mk4 GSI

    Thinking about getting one of these for my gauges but a bit concerned about fitting it on a GSI as there are airbags on the a-pillars. Will this cause any problem.

    Thanks
    Rich
    2.6 V6 MK4 astra

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I dont think the airbags are in the A pillars, I could be wrong. But I think they are futher back, above the door so if you get hit from the side your head doesnt hit the window.
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Rich GSI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers mate might see if I can have a look around see if I can see anything obvious.
    2.6 V6 MK4 astra

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Teejay's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6,383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The 'curtain airbags' will either be in the edge of the seat - or where the grab handle would be (if you had one by driver).

    You should be fine playing with the A Pillar - just watch out for any yellow wires heading up towards the roof!!! (they tend to be for airbags)
    0-60 in 6.5 secs and 48mpg- winner!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    BYRON's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6,649
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by john1981
    I dont think the airbags are in the A pillars, I could be wrong. But I think they are futher back, above the door so if you get hit from the side your head doesnt hit the window.
    there is airbags

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Rich GSI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BYRON SRI
    there is airbags
    so its prob not a good idea to stick pod mounts on the a-pillar then. Dont fancy a gauge hitting me in the face. LOL
    2.6 V6 MK4 astra

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BYRON SRI
    there is airbags
    You sure they are actually in the A pillars? My Dad's MK5 has airbag logo's on the A pillars, but when I removed the covers there was nothing inside the A pillars except loads of wires.
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    BYRON's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6,649
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich GSI
    so its prob not a good idea to stick pod mounts on the a-pillar then. Dont fancy a gauge hitting me in the face. LOL
    I wouldnt personally, no, although Hev has one fittedt there

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    d9vmb's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    542
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich GSI
    Dont fancy a gauge hitting me in the face. LOL
    Yeah thats the same problem i had when i was looking for some where to put my gauges
    But easily solved if you want to put ur gauges in the hu space like i did
    Arden Blue GSI (Now gone)
    White Scooby WRX STI (Now stolen)

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Rich GSI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BYRON SRI
    I wouldnt personally, no, although Hev has one fittedt there
    might have to go with a 3 gauge DIN size panel then, just to be on the safe side.
    2.6 V6 MK4 astra

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pillar pods,
    By steveturbocoupe in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-11-2012, 21:34
  2. Gauge pillar pods?
    By Jonesy in forum Interior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-07-2008, 14:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •