Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Calling all tech bods!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Dave Lad's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    361
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Calling all tech bods!

    Guys, question to pose to you:

    my guvnor wants access to his computer remotely from home, as we use a system at work that plugs us directly into a national franchise network. Do any of you know of any software, or technique we can use to so that he can work from home but access the system at work that we do remotely?
    52 plate 1.8 Bertone Coupe
    Now where did I put all of those Irmscher bits?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Not unless the company you work for has either VPN, some kind of port forewarding or terminal services setup..

    I assume his PC is not the only one in the company for the above info..

    If it is the only PC, then if you find his external IP address that he gets when on the internet, he may be able to use remotedesktop..
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Dave Lad's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    361
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    we have 5 pcs in the office all connected via a LAN, and plugged into a Sun Micro Server that allows us access to our national dispatch system (which we access via IE or firefox in my case). Primarily it is this access he needs
    52 plate 1.8 Bertone Coupe
    Now where did I put all of those Irmscher bits?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I assuem the database you access via IE is stored ON the Sun server...

    If this is the case then to access the same thing remotely would require a server to accept a VPN connection ( which I doubt is setup if yuo are not aware of it )..

    So, tbh, it is very unlikely without changes to the Sun server that you would be able to get to if form home..
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

Similar Threads

  1. Calling tech heads again
    By Dave Lad in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2006, 19:37
  2. Calling all Turbo bods in the know ;)
    By LordNikon in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 20:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •