Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Question On Bridging

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    baldnuts's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question On Bridging

    This prob has been answered many time but please help.

    I have brought the following

    Alpine CDA9847R (Head Unit)
    Alpine MRPT220 2 ch Amp
    Alpine SWL 1042 (Sub)

    As i have only one sub to run on the amp, would it be best to bridge it.

    also i purchased a wiring kit

    But when opening the instructions for the Sub it says that i need a Y RCA connecter, if i want to bridge the Subs

    you prob know this, but as i work it out you use a Y RCA connected to the amp, plugging into the left an right channels, then on the single end of the Y , run it to the head unit on the left side, is this correct ?? , or have you guys bridged your single Sub differently,

    also not happy as he sold me all the gear and did not mention the Y RCA connector from the Amp to the head unit.

    many thanks guys, and how do you rate the setup ?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just looked at the specs for your equipment and its a great idea to bridge your amp. Amp running at 140 rms bridged while your sub can handle 150rms! A close as you'd get it! to my knowledge you dnt need RCA's to bridge and amp. IIRC all you need is your standard RCA output from your head unit into your amp. Then to bridge there should be a guide on the speaker output terminals, hard to describe mate, but basically your positive speaker cable comes from one channel and the negative from the other. Take a look at your amp mate and it should become clearer. If your still having trouble let us know and ill see if i can get a wiring diagram or piccies up for ya.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes Bridge the amp
    ....and Use one set of RCAs from the head unit to the amp.

    You only need the Y connector if splitting the RCA from the head unit to 2 amps.

    Here's a diagram on wiring the sub (bridged):



    Manual Links:
    Click for Amp
    Click for Head Unit

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    baldnuts's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks guys it is all clear now

Similar Threads

  1. resistor bridging airbag
    By uk_ in forum Electrical
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28-09-2010, 23:01
  2. Bridging
    By Al in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-12-2003, 10:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •