Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Advice on how to wire this in

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    whitty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Advice on how to wire this in

    I have a Dell PDA and I have mounted it on the right hand side of the dash but I need to get power to it as the battery only lasts about 2 hours of heavy use....

    I have my road angel plugged into the Cig lighter.

    I dont have any power cables as yet for the PDA but will be buying an incar charger for it.

    There are 2 versions

    A curly wired version and a USB sync and charge which plugs into a cigarette plug.

    Whats the best way to extend these wires as it wont reach too car. I only have 1 power outlet at the moment but I have been told how to put one in the glovebox. Could I just put a USB extender cable onto the sync and charger cable and run it to the spare outlet.

    or

    Is it possible to extend these charger cables by cutting them in the middle and adding more wire.

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You could hard wire the RA into the fuse box, which is much easier than it sounds. Then use the 12v socket for the PDA. The cable for the RA will fit down the side of the dash and the A pillar and into the dash where the fuse box is.

    I'll go grab some pics, I always promise to do it when these threads come up!
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    whitty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi jace

    dont really want to hardwire the RA in to be honnest. I dont mind harding the PDA in and I do want it to go into the the little drawer where the fuse box is behind.

    I was gunna cut a little hole in the back for the wire to go through

    That way I can put the cable in the drawer when not using the PDA

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Only thing to be careful of then is to make sure the plug for the PDA doesnt have a transformer in it to drop the voltage, from say 12v to 3v, otherwise if you plug 12v into the PDA it'll fry.

    I got the new RA navigator and couldnt hard wire it cos of that, so I've had to run the cable through the inside of the dash and it comes out underneath where the socket is. That way there's only a few inches of cable and the plug showing.

    You could still hide the cable down the side of the dash, and run it into the fuse box - if you can get away with cutting the plug off! If not, wire in a second socket behind the dash and hide it away like that.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can see the cable tucked away here, I still havent removed it yet since taking my old RA out! Hence the thick black wire for the new one.

    Wired into the fuse box, the skinny red wire. The earth is just screwed to the chassis.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    whitty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi

    If I wire another Cigg/power outlet from the original do I HAVE to mount it. Can I just hav it behing the little drawer where the fuse panel is???

    If I wrap it in insulation tape will it be ok ??

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Er, in theory.....yes! But it's a bit of a bodge! Best bet is to fix it down somehow, even if just with cable ties, so long as it's secure. The last thing you want is it getting snagged or shorting out on another wire.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    whitty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok,

    but its not like a cig lighter version is it. Not gunna get hot is it??

    Will it just be like a normal power outlet

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It not the socket that gets hot, it's the element thats in the lighter plug that heats up, so it'll be fine.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    whitty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ahh

    So as long as I dont put a Cigg plug in and just use a normal charger plug it wont get hot.

    I'll tape it up and cable tie it behind the drawer below the fuse panel

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ADVICE live wire for sub
    By coupe_bcfc in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 19:17
  2. Help/Advice Ignition wire
    By MarkC in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 12:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •