Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fitting A Strut brace (Mk4)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ForZiE's Avatar
    It only takes a minute
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,394
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Fitting A Strut brace (Mk4)

    Right before u say it yes ive read the HOW TO

    Problem ive got is the relay box... How do i move it?! Has anyone managed to do this?!

    Thanks
    Astra Mk4 GSi in Ardon BLUE
    "HAS IT GOT BOOST"

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've modded the lid, and Ste_goffy modded the bottom of the box so it sits lower in the bracket

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ForZiE's Avatar
    It only takes a minute
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,394
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    howd u mod the lid geoff?!
    thanks
    Astra Mk4 GSi in Ardon BLUE
    "HAS IT GOT BOOST"

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ForZiE2005
    howd u mod the lid geoff?!
    thanks
    you up clip it mark

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    ForZiE's Avatar
    It only takes a minute
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,394
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannysport18
    you up clip it mark
    And leave it off?!!!
    Astra Mk4 GSi in Ardon BLUE
    "HAS IT GOT BOOST"

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    difficult to describe TBH - chop off the rear sloping half (just above the horizontal shoulder). Tidy the sides up and then put the cut section back on, but upside down and back to front.

    So instead of getting a convex curve to the lid you get a concave one - that gave me enough to clear the brace

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ForZiE's Avatar
    It only takes a minute
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,394
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hmm... Ila have to have a play with it 2mora in the light a little more then
    Astra Mk4 GSi in Ardon BLUE
    "HAS IT GOT BOOST"

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    or chop the bottom of the relay box, then take a slice off the new end (what ever is need eto clear the top, and then re-attache the bottom back on

Similar Threads

  1. Strut brace fitting help
    By [ELMO] in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-01-2013, 21:07
  2. Can anyone help fitting a strut brace?
    By GDA9 in forum North East Region
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-05-2012, 10:18
  3. Fitting a Strut Brace
    By mphowells in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 09:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •