Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MK5 Trip Comp + Retro fitting?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MK5 Trip Comp + Retro fitting?

    What info does the MK5 display? Plus would it be possible to retro fit one? Whats needed? Just plug and play? I know they work through the standard HU would you need a new MFD too?
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You're not really gonna be able to retro fit much in MK5's.....

    I'm pretty sure that this is the case:

    It's all confuddled by the CANBUS system, where each item can be coded with the identity of the vehicle...which to be used in another it would mean decoding from vehicle and recoding on new one....not exactly a DIY job.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ahh, I'm guessing the recoding wouldnt be cheap? Any idea on who could recode it? Only the vaux people?

    EDIT: Any info on what it displays?
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    depends on the model.... !

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by M40COO
    depends on the model.... !
    Sports hatch SXI 1.7 CDTi

    Im guessing range left on the fuel, but what else?
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Vxcoupe16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the display will be things similiar to the mk4 display like range, instant mpg, average mpg, average speed, stop watch and a couple of other things, from previous experience on swapping screens in vauxhalls you might find they have a different connector altogether on the back of it to the 1 you have already got in the car

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I dont have the car yet. I'm considering getting it as an option?

    you say "a couple of other things" Are these other things worth Ł200?
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cough, is it worth Ł200...? What else does it show apart from range n av speed?
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Vxcoupe16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    dunno whether its worth Ł200 but it just looks better having the bigger screen, shows you how many miles to the gallon you are doing, some helpful things i find on my mk4 screen are "washer fluid level" check, "cooloant level" check and reminds you about oil level etc it is helpful

Similar Threads

  1. trip comp
    By 00emelee in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 21:59
  2. is this the right trip comp for mk 4 gsi?
    By billy-whizz in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-06-2010, 23:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •