Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: changing my stereo (astra H)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    huffanpuff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,806
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Talking changing my stereo (astra H)

    i want to change the head unit in my astra H, thing is i want to keep the display for radio stations/cd tracks, now someone told me i will lose both of these.has anyone done it or is this the truth?if it can be done then what is required?not very good with audio so be gentle

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Vauxhall decided to change the set-up of the wiring loom for the Astra H.

    You current stereo is coded to your ECU, so if you fit it to another car it wont work, because of this wiriing up a new stereo was a pain but Autoleads and a few other companies now make adaptor leads that work.

    Unfortuantly i'm not sure if you'll lose your display or not, it depend if the newlead is available yet.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    huffanpuff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,806
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Talking

    is it ust a straight in and out swap? same car as you too keif

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The information I have says that pioneer make a interface that works with the steering wheel controls only so rule that make out
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    huffanpuff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,806
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you will have to be a bit more specific with your answers guys...bit thick with audio you see..

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If you change the headunit in your car for a aftermarket one you will need adaptors for it to work the steering wheel controls and display if they are even made yet

    Does your car have the trip computer?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    huffanpuff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,806
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yes the car has trip computer, i just dont want to go to the trouble of taking out current one to find out it wont work the same with the new one.dont mean to be thick but i know F.ALL bout audio, also if you know where to buy them and what i need to ask for would be good..thanks

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by huffanpuff
    same car as you too keif
    No, Vauxhall changed the wiring in 2005.

    My other half has a 2005 spec Corsa C.

    Exactly the same tho.

    It'll just be a case of searching for someone who makes an adaptor that does everything you want.

    I recomend ringing Car Electronics. Take a look here
    http://www.cel-direct.com/Contact.asp

Similar Threads

  1. changing stereo please help
    By ash_chambers in forum Interior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2011, 01:33
  2. Changing standard stereo
    By iron monkey in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 18-02-2009, 09:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •