Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Horn on alarm

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    b21playa's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Horn on alarm

    I know my Clifford has an output for the horn (negative).

    my alarm went off today and i realised how low the siren actually is, may be cuz of soundproofing under bonnet.

    where can i locate the correct wire for the horn?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Putting the wire from the alarm direct to the horn will result in the alarm brain going pop as they are only low current outputs. Also even once it's been powered up through a relay the horn will just sound permantly and not on/off like normal alarms
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    b21playa's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks
    Putting the wire from the alarm direct to the horn will result in the alarm brain going pop as they are only low current outputs. Also even once it's been powered up through a relay the horn will just sound permantly and not on/off like normal alarms
    the clifford i have has a horn output which is set to pulsed, i would have thought this was possible

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Ok my mistake, i'm not clued up on cliffords and made assumptions as most alarms say horn/siren output

    Your still best to put a relay on the output so it can gave more current
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    ukez's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Lightbulb

    you might be able to use a relay with it if theirs a problem connecting it direct to your horn.

    good luck

Similar Threads

  1. alarm horn
    By alan1812 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-01-2011, 13:09
  2. horn with alarm
    By gsifin in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-07-2006, 21:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •