Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Internet help

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mb0809's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Internet help

    got a problem with internet, i cant get on any secure servers for some reason, i cant get on messenger or my hotmail account, any one any ideas

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Check your firewall/security settings

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    Check you internet explorer security settings to make sure they haven't been adjusted to high security. Otherwise you won't be going anywhere. The fact that you can't get onto hotmail means a port is being blocked which then I'd suspect a firewall. Suggest if you haven't adjusted anything download AVG anti virus / Spybot & Adaware. These are all downloadable from www.majorgeeks.com update and run all these programs and remove anything they find. If you still have problems then PM me and I'll go through some other stuff with you.

    jam
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    SXiASTRA's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,585
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i had the same prob are you on tiscali by any chance ?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    try firstly disabling windows firewall if you have XP (cos its poo)...try using a different firewall...i use norton...or there are free ones available, then set a rule to allow port access for certain programs, i.e. messenger

    and if u have a router (which is advised) you need to access your router homepage... usually set as http://192.168.0.1, and then type username n password...that you can find on the net, which is specific to your router (i have a netgear and username: admin, password: password), and set port rules on there aswell...

    i did this, and am now able to use messenger, limewire, azureus, all-seeing eye (i lovve online gaming)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mb0809's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    no am on pipex, i hvae just paid to have it all checked out as was having other problems with net, they sorted that and now has this problem, they installed an avg firewall but i cant alter settings

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Shahid's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Check your proxy settings, if you are being routed through one and the settings don't specify routing https you'll get this problem on any site which is https.

    Click on Tools>Internet Options>Connections>Lan settings. If the section under proxy server is ticked then click on advanced and tick the box that says use same settings for all protocols (or words to that effect).

Similar Threads

  1. is your internet ok?
    By haulme in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 23:45
  2. How do i get the internet in my car?
    By Dannywrc in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31-05-2007, 10:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •