Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Fitting a Alpine DVD unit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mac_12's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Fitting a Alpine DVD unit

    Well i just got my hands on a Alpine IVA-900r.

    I been quoted by local audio shops about 180-200 for fitting...

    which is really funny.

    i didnt expect to pay more than £100 for fitting.

    i know the all the work put into it, but they are pro's.

    Anyways, i was wondering if anyone did it by themselves?
    I understand theres alot of man hours will have to be put in, and im happy to waste hours doing it.

    Possible or not?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's simple....just fits same as a head unit...DIY !

    only thing is you may have to put any hideaway boxes behind glovebox.

    Thats simple 6 torx screws to take out.


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Here are the manuals for it...bound to be a fitting one

    http://www.alpine-europe.com/content...arch=IVA-D900R


  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    shylock_se2's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Remember when we did mine wasn't as easy as a hu, alot more wiring and as said you have the hideaway box but overall not too hard!
    Two type R 15's and 1.21 Jigowatts of power

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mac_12's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks guys!!

    there is a brain unit. and yes alot of wiring.

    take the glovebox out? and put the hideaway box behind it? mount it where?
    sorry got a bit lost.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Like stated its the brain unit that is the bugger, fitted a D300rb to my car and fitting it took pretty much a full day of pissing about. The fact that i tried running the wires down the side sills, only to find out they were too sohort added a bit of time though.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mac_12
    ...take the glovebox out? and put the hideaway box behind it? mount it where?
    sorry got a bit lost.
    Yes, remove the glovebox and fit the unit behind it...

    Unless you rally your car....it wont move much anyway

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    sjj84's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,305
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I cable tied my brain unit behind the glove box in mine. Little bit more involved than a normal headunit, but still isn't difficult and doesn't take to long.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Remember these units are a extension to the headunit usually and have the amp in them for the speakers. This means there's a cooling fan on it so it needs to have air flow

    It may look like alot of wiring but taking a little time to do it and it will be easy
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mac_12's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    very helpful replies guys thanks.

    i dont that this hideaway box has a fan..but i do like the idea of putting it behind the glovebox. it will save me ripping out half the interior to mount it in the boot.

    can i do this without taking the center console off?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Alpine Head Unit
    By Danny_ in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26-08-2007, 01:20
  2. Alpine head unit
    By dannysport18 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-06-2005, 00:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •