Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Spark Plug Gap for Stage3?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    MikeWarner's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Spark Plug Gap for Stage3?

    What is the maximum spark plug gap I can get away with running 20psi overboost and holding around 16ish? I have almost 275bhp and 300lb.ft torque.

    I had closed them to 0.6 a while back as I had a problem and wanted to eliminate a misfire. I just changed it to an optimistic 0.9mm and I;m getting a very slight misfire at full boost. Spanner light came on for a bit - I assume this was emmisions based. It went out a few miles later.

    I'm assuming 0.8mm would be fine, but wondering what everying else runs.

    Spark plugs are NRK Iridium BKR6EIX.
    8 Astras in a row! Can Anyone Beat That?
    Star Silver Astra Sporthatch SRi XP 1.9 CDTi (150PS)
    A Vauxhall site about Vauxhalls.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    AndyGSi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    775
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Scott had a problem like this with Shevs car a while back, whilst its on a CS2 map as they are now, Shevs car was running the 1.1 mm gap plugs, and was having all sorts of problems, basically the boost was blowing out the spark before the fuel burnt, sending a bad mix of stuff down the exhaust, poisioning the cat, throwing the emissions light on, once it burnt off, the light went out.


    I have the normal 0.8mm gap ones in mine, and even with the Wrong phase of software for the turbo, I can peak at 1.45 bar and its fine. Dont forget, the bigger the gap, the more strain you are putting on the coilpack.

    BTW, the Denso plugs as sold by Regal have a 0.6mm electrode gap.
    Astra GSi Turbo, SOLD


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have the .7's in mine Mike with no problems. We re-gapped Shev's to about .9 and it is now fine, the gap had increased to about 1.2mm which is what caused the problems.

    I'd have thought that you would be fine up to .8 mm.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    turboed's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sound more like a Lamba sensor playing up, thats what mine was when I had the same 6 months ago running phase 3

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    trickyb's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mike im suing the same plugs and holding 15 psi overboost to 20, mine are gapped to 0.8 without probs.

Similar Threads

  1. spark plugs and spark plug number ????
    By phil2014 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19-07-2014, 02:45
  2. What spark plugs and spark plug number?
    By eyeopen in forum Chassis
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-07-2014, 23:32
  3. Spark plug gap
    By Alex991 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-04-2011, 20:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •