Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: fitting an oil pressure gauge

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mitch@evolution's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    fitting an oil pressure gauge

    anyone fitted one to a zlet or know how to, this is somthing ive never done and really dont know where to start.
    Inspired Automotive Detailing and Valeting - Concours Approved
    www.inspired-automotive.co.uk

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    mitch@evolution's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    someone must know something about this.
    Inspired Automotive Detailing and Valeting - Concours Approved
    www.inspired-automotive.co.uk

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've just fitted one to my coupe turbo mate, was a bit of a problem as the sump plug on Z20 LET's has a star socket inside it which means you can't put the sensor in there as usual. I put mine in a plug by the oil pump, its a bit hard to see unless your underneath the car. Basically just removed the plug, drill a hole, taped & dyed the correct thread size and screwed my sensor in. Bit of silicone sealer and it was job done.

    To wire the guage up i just got the power off the cigereatte lighter wires ( so they came on with the ignition ) then ran them up the back of the dash. My guage requires one +v and -V to light it and another for the sensor. As the sensor works on the basis of the senor being a variable resistor, so as the temperature increases, the sensor draws more current( as the sensor should be earthed) therefore the guage rises, simple mate. Hope this was of some help.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The guage i bought by the way was a Auto Guage one, from www.xyberautos.com, good price too.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mitch@evolution's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    there the gauges i nock out actually lol, but ive got something a little special for my own motor, ill have a go at doing this, did you take any pictures of your while you were doing it.
    Inspired Automotive Detailing and Valeting - Concours Approved
    www.inspired-automotive.co.uk

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Only got a pic of the guage on the dash after i fitted it mate, it was at night as well so a bit crap.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What you got planned then, anything tasty mate?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MikeWarner's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mattcoupturbo
    I've just fitted one to my coupe turbo mate, was a bit of a problem as the sump plug on Z20 LET's has a star socket inside it which means you can't put the sensor in there as usual.
    Matt - you can't get pressure off the sump plug location - only temperature. Is your gauge a temp or pressure guage (or a fancy SPA one with both?).

    You are right though - for pressure, there should be a spare connection with a blank in it off the oil pump. IIRC, it is a funny size, so you may need to fabricate your own adapter to connect the sensor there.
    8 Astras in a row! Can Anyone Beat That?
    Star Silver Astra Sporthatch SRi XP 1.9 CDTi (150PS)
    A Vauxhall site about Vauxhalls.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Argh poo, it was late at night and i didn't read it properly. Mine is an oil temp guage doh.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mitch@evolution's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    lol, eye its oil pressure ive got, there all wired in electrical now just need to figure ou how to connect it up, this is something ive never done and im struggling to find a guide. do any of you guys know where the oil pump is located so i can check the connection. ive just had a remap so wanted the gauges in so i new what everything was running and that its running safe, ive ever sacrifices my flip out tv for the extra gauges lol.
    Inspired Automotive Detailing and Valeting - Concours Approved
    www.inspired-automotive.co.uk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. fitting oil pressure gauge
    By Jacko2 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-06-2014, 19:53
  2. Fitting oil pressure gauge
    By Eddles in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-05-2009, 19:29
  3. how to on fitting oil pressure gauge....
    By beresford32@msn in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 09:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •