Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: download speeds?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    hughesey's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    204
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    download speeds?

    My PC at home's not downloading anywhere near the speeds its meant to, we use Tiscali, think we pay £14.99 a month for 1MB broadband. just been on http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/speedtest.asp to see the actual speed, and it came in at:
    Downstream 473 Kbps (59.1 KB/sec) 510 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 236 Kbps (29.5 KB/sec) 254 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Done the test now about 3 times, and getting different results all the time, 1st time was around 350 Kbps download...

    The PC's new-ish, P4 3GH MHz Processor, 512RAM.... so fairly capable!!

    Any chance any of you doing the test on your PC's and writing down your findings as well as spec of PC and which provider you use.

    Thanks in advance if you do!!

  2. #2
    Rosco83
    Rosco83's Avatar
    I have wanadoo, currently a 1mbps service. PC is an AMD athlon XP running 2.8GHz & 1GB or ram, my speed rating on the site you specified was....


    Actual Speed
    True Speed (estimated)

    Downstream 937 Kbps (117.1 KB/sec) 1011 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 242 Kbps (30.3 KB/sec) 261 Kbps (inc. overheads)

    Any help ?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    hughesey's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    204
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah, thats about what it should be, mines half as much!! cheers for doing test rosco, could anyone else do it too???? think i am going to have to get on the blower to Tiscali, as I know my PC's not downloading anything it shouldn't be and nothing else is using the Internet connection...!!! its just slow for some reason!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    My results are much the same as above for Rosco83 and I should be on a 2mb line but apparently it will only go as fast as 1mb

    Maybe your line is only capable of 512?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Rosco83
    Rosco83's Avatar
    no worries mate, im sure others will join in.... be a good idea to run an adware programme like lavasofts adaware... jor a better programme... just incase something is sneaking some bandwidth. If not....i'd be be forced to ask them aswell

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    hughesey's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    204
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers will have a look at that lavasofts prog u said. anything else i could try, before i ring them?

    just done test again, and it came back at
    Downstream 306 Kbps (38.3 KB/sec) 330 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 229 Kbps (28.6 KB/sec) 247 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    (a 3rd of what it should be more or less)...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have BT 2Mb and I get this:

    Downstream 1783 Kbps (310.4 KB/sec)1917 Kbps (inc. overheads) Upstream 346 Kbps (40.8 KB/sec)365 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    .......................
    If your not getting the speed you expect, check the system for spyware ( use Microsoft AntiSpyware if you have XP or Spybot Search and Destroy - Also scan for viruses )

    You could also do a test @ www.zensupport.co.uk/speedtest and www.testmy.net ( click the "download speed test" then the "Smart Test" option..
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    hughesey's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    204
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers will try these too, got another different reading just when done the test!! doing my head in this is... - i am downloading ethereal from the net, supposed to be good for checking what is being used over internet connections n stuff... never used this before, hope its not too complicated, will let u know wot i find...
    cheers again for ur input!!
    dinner time now while this is downloading!!!!
    laters...

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    rusty's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,511
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by hughesey
    My PC at home's not downloading anywhere near the speeds its meant to, we use Tiscali, think we pay £14.99 a month for 1MB broadband. just been on http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/speedtest.asp to see the actual speed, and it came in at:
    Downstream 473 Kbps (59.1 KB/sec) 510 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 236 Kbps (29.5 KB/sec) 254 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Done the test now about 3 times, and getting different results all the time, 1st time was around 350 Kbps download...

    The PC's new-ish, P4 3GH MHz Processor, 512RAM.... so fairly capable!!

    Any chance any of you doing the test on your PC's and writing down your findings as well as spec of PC and which provider you use.

    Thanks in advance if you do!!

    hah, i'm on a tiscali 2mb line and check out what i got

    Direction
    Actual Speed
    True Speed (estimated)

    Downstream 108 Kbps (13.5 KB/sec) 116 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 214 Kbps (26.8 KB/sec) 231 Kbps (inc. overheads)


    and no download progs were running.... although this is unusually slow

    tiscali suck monkey turd..... simple. I very rarely get more than 70kB/s on direct downloads, and 30kB/s on torrents


    on a 2mb line..... bite me tiscali
    My car - Rusty Custom Creations Inc....

    The only natural pilots are born with feathers.... except me.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Worth noting that Ethereal requires WinPcap and this might be detected by SpyBot, MS Antispyware, Norton and Mcafee as dodgy software. You can ignore this but bare in mind that it does have overheads itself and will slow down network ( and internet ) traffic..
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2.2 speeds
    By coupehowey in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 17:31
  2. what speeds do you get through the box?
    By RICHIE in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-09-2003, 18:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •