Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Phone blockage query?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Dave Lad's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    361
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Phone blockage query?

    Hi guys,

    quick question if theres anyone who knows or works for a phone shop - had a mate at work offer me a phone that ive been after for ages that is a contract phone that she doesnt want anymore with a contract that ends in two weeks. Now, she doesnt want to renew the contract, so question:

    I have heard that some companies can block phones remotely if they are lost / stolen, or no longer required if contracts aren't renewed. Is this true? If I buy this phone and the owning network operator block the phone is it knackered? can you get them unblocked? Views and oppinions appreciated guys. Cheers
    52 plate 1.8 Bertone Coupe
    Now where did I put all of those Irmscher bits?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Yes some companies do remotely block a phone handset if they're lost/stolen.
    It NOT normal practise to block a phone that the contract term has run out on.
    They won't block it, eberytime i've upgraded my phone (so the contract has expired on the old handset) i've sold them on on e-bay. With no problems at all.

    Plus.
    You can get them unblocked, depending on which phone it is.

    However in England, it's illegal to unblock a phone.

    However in Scotland it isn't.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've always sold my old contract phones, in fact Hev has my old one, put her sim card in and it worked straight away. Was a different network too, but contract phones are (usually) unlocked for all networks.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Keif
    Yes some companies do remotely block a phone handset if they're lost/stolen.
    It NOT normal practise to block a phone that the contract term has run out on.
    They won't block it, eberytime i've upgraded my phone (so the contract has expired on the old handset) i've sold them on on e-bay. With no problems at all.

    Plus.
    You can get them unblocked, depending on which phone it is.

    However in England, it's illegal to unblock a phone.

    However in Scotland it isn't.
    You can't UNBLOCK one yourself. However you can UNLOCK one yourself.

    When its blocked its blocked from accessing the network via the companys own network.

    If your phone is blocked, buy a new simcard for Ł5. Then if needs be have it unlocked from that network.
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Skót
    You can't UNBLOCK one yourself. However you can UNLOCK one yourself.
    Never said you could do it yourself!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Duff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    once the contract is up the phone is ur property, if the network blocks it seak legal advice

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    pinkjuicee69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,162
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    or get the person to tell them they either dropped it into cement or a river as they wont block it as they believe no-one else can use it ;p
    <<< astra-sport (Beds Region) >>>
    ...COME AND JOIN IN THE FUN...
    The small ones are the juciest! ... G&T Queen

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Skót's Avatar
    "Choking his Monkey"
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Keif
    Never said you could do it yourself!
    I didn't say you did, I meant yourself asin no one but the the phone company. Once the sim is blocked its blocked.

    However you can have it unlocked from a network.
    DELETED BY ADMIN -MATG

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Aaarrrrrr, but quoting me and typing what you did looks like thats what i said.

    I can see how you ment it now.

    Still, Dave Lad you shouldn't have anything to worry about.

Similar Threads

  1. phone upgrade nokia n97 query
    By a.tanasan@btinternet in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28-09-2009, 15:16
  2. Astra G phone kit pre wiring query
    By Astra888 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13-05-2006, 20:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •