Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: MFD "trip" computer

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MFD "trip" computer

    I have a copue turbo fitted with the MFD that has fuel consumption etc.

    Does any one know how to stop it "looking" for the front headlamps?

    I ask as I have my dipped beams wired to the battery via a relay and the trip computer keeps telling me there is a fault.

    If not I shall have to fork out for a new and bigger battery

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    A5TRA 59ORT's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,202
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    easiest way would be to put a resistor across the orignal light connector that way the trip computer will think a good bulb is still present.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A5TRA 59ORT
    easiest way would be to put a resistor across the orignal light connector that way the trip computer will think a good bulb is still present.
    What ohm resistor do you recommend then?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Duff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    why do u have your dipped lights wired like that

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Duff
    why do u have your dipped lights wired like that
    My HID kits are much happier running with a positive feed directly from the battery than they are from the car's loom.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    A5TRA 59ORT's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,202
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by K3FUS
    What ohm resistor do you recommend then?
    i don't know one thats matched the resistance of the standard bulb!

    It will be very low resistance what ever it is.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ubugger's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,450
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A5TRA 59ORT
    i don't know one thats matched the resistance of the standard bulb!

    It will be very low resistance what ever it is.

    I wouldn't do that....... the thing is that the resistor will have MASSIVE power going through it if it is a low resistance.....

    There's a wiring diagram for the MFD floating around (and the check control unit, which is the part that kicks up the error), it is above the glovebox and if you get the wire that checks the headlights and cut it, and wire it to ground (make sure you have the right wire!) then it won't show (or check) that any more...

    go to

    http://translate.google.com/translat...language_tools

    and click

    On board computer (MID) re-tool

    and you'll see something like the below information in a table (much easier to read there).... and look for the one you need (i'm guessing pin 14 and 15 of the check control unit (not the display in the dash) and cut those and short to ground...

    Pin
    Function
    Color

    1
    Pin 17 MID
    White-green

    2
    Pin 18 MID
    Blackyellow

    3
    -----
    -----

    4
    -----
    -----

    5
    Mass
    Brown

    6
    Behind safety device headlight low beam left
    Yellow

    7
    Behind safety device headlight low beam right
    Yellow

    8
    Lamp stop light left
    Blackyellow

    9
    Lamp taillight left
    Grey-black

    10
    Lamp taillight right
    Grey-red

    11
    Behind safety device taillight left
    Grey-black

    12
    -----
    -----

    13
    Behind safety device taillight right
    Grey-red

    14
    Lamp headlight low beam left
    Yellow

    15
    Lamp headlight low beam right
    Yellow

    16
    Lamp stop light right
    Blackyellow



    Aaron
    Opel/Vauxhall/Holden Astra SRi 2.2L
    For all your Car Audio Questions
    http://mig2.lathwood.co.uk/upload/n/nutter.jpg
    *I choose to reject your reality and substitute my own*

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Oddjob's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,213
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by K3FUS
    My HID kits are much happier running with a positive feed directly from the battery than they are from the car's loom.
    Strange as when I looked into HID lights they were rated at 35w and that's less than the OE bulbs. Why run them from the battery? and hope you've in line fused them.
    52 Astra G 1.8, 18" Mille Miglia alloys, 325mm Brembo 4 pot conversion, Coupe leather interior, Raid strut brace, Whiteline rear ARB, Irmscher bits (skirts, Carbon steering wheel, Bonnet extension, M3 mirrors, boot & roof spoiler), Reiger Rear Diffuser & Front Bumper, Koni Adj. dampers, 35/30 Vogtland springs, Duplex quad exit ASCAR stainless exhaust.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The problem with HIDs is the voltage/current they take to ignite, once running they use less.

    I now have a 72 amp/hr Vauxhall "GO" battery fitted and the HIDs back on the car loom, so far so good!

    Only down side so far, the jacket that covered the orginal battery is not big enough for the new one.....more money

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    d dave's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    11,579
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Add d dave on Facebook
    Your not having much luck with your HID kit are you? I just hope mines doesnt start playing up
    Scottish Member? Have a peep at our Region For tints or wraps Click Here!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •