Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: How easy to replace the turbo

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    How easy to replace the turbo

    How easy is it to replace my turbo?

    I have a nice new one to go on but want an idea how easy it is and what roughly needsa to be removed.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its a bitch and mine wasnt even in the car! well was in the boot.

    whats up with yours and what you got?

    you need a socket, cant remember what size but can tell you in a min. theres something like 10 or 8 bolts holding it on then disconnect the oil pipes etc. but very fiddley!
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Oil seals are starting to go so I am 'borrowing' a mates turbo whilst mine is sent back as it's under warranty by the company that reconed it but I didnt own the car when it was done so they wont cover the cost of the labour etc

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    how long are they going to have it and will you need the car? as i found it hard and it isnt something to mess round with or bodge it
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Said it could take upto 4 weeks and I need the car for work

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hmmm well as ive got two turbos and a head in my bedroom i could have a look for you just to refresh my memory

    i took mine apart when it was in the back of my 5door with back seats flat and had trouble! wouldnt like to do it with the rads and all in the way
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    AndyGSi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    775
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you still have the standard IC in, its possible to change the turbo without disturbing the radiators. The turbo nuts are torx I think? not sure about the oil feed lines though.
    Astra GSi Turbo, SOLD


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yea still have the standard intercooler.

    Pretty sure the oil feeds are female torx too.

    Going to give it a go next weekend hopfully

    Do you remove the turbo from the manifold or take the manifold out and then remove the turbo (Not looked yet so the turbo and manifold might be 1 piece too)

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its one piece, i used a normal socket to take mine out
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Duff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    where is the turbo on the 1.7dti??

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Valve Lifters - How easy to replace
    By GB in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18-02-2007, 23:21
  2. how easy is it to replace the conrods?
    By norm29 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-03-2005, 11:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •