Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Does Any 1 Get Poor Radio Reception Off A Aftermarket Stereo?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Windrew's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Golborne, Wigan, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,637
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)

    Does Any 1 Get Poor Radio Reception Off A Aftermarket Stereo?

    Found out why,

    (if you already didnt know) theres a amplifier in the aerial base, and when you remove the standard radio it stops powering this,



    What you can do to reconnect it is, the red and white wire of the radio loom is the pos signal for it, simply reconnect this to a pos supply or if your radio has it like mine connect it to the electric aerial out put (normaly blue) and the reception improves 100%!



    May help someone


    Andy m
    ARDEN BLUE GSI

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    but this is done by the set of iso leads you use to plug the new head unit in ????

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    silversxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    mine dont pick up anything, is d.a.b compatible, but duno how to work it, think i need a d.a.b aerial ?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers for confirming this windrew...was gonna investigate that as I saw the booster in the Haynes electrical diagram.

    I think some people get away with it due to being in a strong signal area.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I do think the booster is mainly for AM signals and it's good to hear in confirmed

    silversxi you probably need the DAB control unit plus the DAB aerial. It's like saying its compatiable with a multiplay but obviously you need to plug one
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    coupe-turbo's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    mine is rubbish. and i mean really rubbish. will have to take a look, thanks for the info.
    ANDY

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Houstie's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    536
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Autosparks, can you confirm which two it would be on the corsa loom, remembering they changed it about 12months ago, and the loom is now the same as the bmw, and mini loom.

    That would be a big help as my g/friend has had a terrible radio signal since i put her jvc unit in??

    **** sorry to hi jack the thread but it is similar ****

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Houstie...have a look and see which wire on the car loom does'nt get a HU wire ....

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Houstie's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    536
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i thought it would have to be 2 wires though coo as above ... no?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Above is 1 wire coloured red and white ....it completes the power circuit of the booster.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Poor radio reception on car stereo
    By bun-nun in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-02-2014, 12:33
  2. Does Any 1 Get Poor Radio Reception Off A Aftermarket Stereo?
    By Windrew in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2005, 21:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •