Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: In car DVD

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    CHR1SGSIVXR's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    In car DVD

    I am new to the in-car dvd lark. Just wondering if i could fit the following products to my pioneer head unit by putting the dvd player in the glove box and the motorised screen in the slot where the cd holder is. Any help would be gratefully recieved. Thanks. The car is an a SE1 coupe

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

    Not sure about the products but it is just the first idea.
    Yorkshire Region R.O
    DRIVES A 2.2 SE1 COUPE & 1.4 CORSA SPORT

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    What pioneer headunit do you have?

    Just had a quick look at them and the only problem you will have is getting the audio to your headunit but as long as your headunit is new enough you can use a Autoleads PC7-101 for that
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    CHR1SGSIVXR's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for the reply. The headunit is a DEH-P7400MP. Does the DVD gear look ok for the money. Also if the headunit is suitable how would you access the DVD thru the headunit so it plays thru cars speakers. Regards. Chris
    Yorkshire Region R.O
    DRIVES A 2.2 SE1 COUPE & 1.4 CORSA SPORT

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    To get the sound through the car speakers you would use that autoleads adaptor I listed above

    Can't really comment on quality or price of those units above as i've never bought anything like it
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    CHR1SGSIVXR's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just one more question. would this be a good way to go about this and would it work putting the player in the glove box. Would the unit play thru the aux on the head unit. Is the autoleads connector like the pioneer ip-bus connector. Thanks for all your help.
    Yorkshire Region R.O
    DRIVES A 2.2 SE1 COUPE & 1.4 CORSA SPORT

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    HoldenSRI's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi bud one thing I would say to you, I'm not sure about your budget but if you can look for a screen with a better dot resolution

    Also you might need a regulator for the power to the screen, it depends after you install it if you get lots of lines

    A tip I could give you though is wrap your AV wires in Tin foil and then in pvc tape to help reduce interference and if its s-video cable never coil or loop the cable use s bends instead.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CHR1SGSIVXR
    Just one more question. would this be a good way to go about this and would it work putting the player in the glove box. Would the unit play thru the aux on the head unit. Is the autoleads connector like the pioneer ip-bus connector. Thanks for all your help.
    This is one way of going about it, a option I have thought about myself. I know they do fold out screens with DVD players built in so thats another option

    The autoleads adaptor will plug into the pioneer bus connector where your cd player would and go through the aux

    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    GSI_Butch's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,681
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hiya chris, soz to jump in on ya thread mate, but i got the same head unit, the Pioneer DEH7400MP jus to confirm a pic is added below. lol



    Autosparks - if i want to run a seperate screen unit and use the bus connector with my above head unit, How do i change between cd player and Screen usage eg PS2 for sound ???

    soz bout the Q's mate
    GSi Turbo - CS2 - 253bhp / 275ft/lb Torque
    1/4 mile - 14.62secs @ 95.5mph

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Brett's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14,196
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    I had to use a rb20 bus connection from pionner to do this never new audio leads did a lead

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    GSi Butch I believe in the mens's there is a option on switching the AUX input on so that pressing the sourse button would go between radio, CD, AUX
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •