Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Removing Plenum Chamber...

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Removing Plenum Chamber...

    I want to get the Cross over pipe and Plenum chamber chromed this week, now removing the cross over pipe is a piece of piss, but how do you remove the plenum chamber? is there gasket or summet underneath that I'll need to replace? also what is the torque setting for them to get the right pressure etc?

    Thanks
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It just unscrews.

    Cant remember if there is a gasget but when I swapped mine I didnt replacve anything (But that may have been because the gasget if there is one was ok)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just the four screws, there isn't a gasket.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    no gasket .. no o-rings .. no seal?

    so i can just remove it?
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im certain there isn't anything, take it off and have a look.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks bud
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    baz's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    425
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Like any other open port, just make sure you cover it up once you remove the plenum chamber (and of course the entry to the top of the turbo) to prevent anything falling in and causing you more trouble come rebuild time - I normally throw a surgical glove over the opening as they're normally stretchy enough to cover it up and prevent any debris or screws etc finding a new home
    www.jon44w.com NI's #1car and cruising site

    My Photography site www.bazpics.com

    Coupe and Mk5 now gone....2006 5.7 CV8Z Monaro now my daily driver

Similar Threads

  1. plenum chamber
    By mick1987 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-02-2014, 20:21
  2. Chamber issues
    By Ronny in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-07-2009, 22:58
  3. Removing Plenum Chamber...
    By Turbo_Scott in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-08-2005, 14:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •