Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Clock/date display screen - in centre console

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    tjzac's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,021
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Clock/date display screen - in centre console

    I'm not sure if this happened before my battery went flat a couple weeks back as i only had the car a short while before that...

    anyway, my problem is this:

    when i switch the stereo on the date goes off, and nothing else comes on... the time and temp display is fine, but the date is gone, not even telling me what track CD is playing or radio for that matter... when i take the fascia off, the date comes back on the screen !

    Any idea what is wrong with it?

    (PS as you can see i borrowed Duff's pic of his new headunit and thought it'd help me explain the problem)

    Hope i've made a bit of sense, cos i am finding it hard to explain it properly !


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Have you just put an aftermarket headunit in??

  3. #3
    Status
    Online
    dodger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I had the same problem this morning with a standard CDR500 Radio. Got in my car started the engine the radio came on but the display did show the radio station. The Time and Temperature was there. I turned the radio off and on again and all was fine. This has happened a few times now, anyone with any ideas?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    tjzac's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,021
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ffoeg
    Have you just put an aftermarket headunit in??
    Yes its an aftermarket headunit (it came with the car)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    chewitt's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2,242
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if you dont have a top of the rang head unit (aftermarket) then u will lose the display

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Simon-DTi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,463
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What make head unit is it? some you need to turn the "oem display" option back on, if you've had a total loss of power it may well have forgotton it's settings.

    I have a fairly low end head unit and the display works. You just need one with the right options on it
    2 Door E350 CDI - OM642 power baby
    emJlZnIgdmYgZmJiYmIgeW5mZyBscm5l

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    tjzac's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,021
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its a sony CDX-L400X , will play about with it and see how it goes... (will let you know too)

    Havent got a manual - wasnt given to me by the guy who sold the car to me

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    whitty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    To get the track info on you need an aftermarket wiring kit (autoleads for example) if you just want the date back on when your using the HU then....

    You just need to cut the grey wire with the red stripe behind the HU. Its the wire that belongs to the car not the HU.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by whitty
    To get the track info on you need an aftermarket wiring kit (autoleads for example) if you just want the date back on when your using the HU then....

    You just need to cut the grey wire with the red stripe behind the HU. Its the wire that belongs to the car not the HU.
    With the ignition turned off - press the top MFD button. If the date comes up, then the above is what you need to do.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    tjzac's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,021
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    managed to get date back on screen so looks like i'll have to buy that aftermarket wiring kit ! (for track info)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MK3 clock/date/temp display
    By TheGuv in forum Electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30-10-2012, 00:37
  2. Clock - Date Display
    By mgreeny007 in forum Interior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18-03-2008, 18:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •