Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Traction control button

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    x!'s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Traction control button

    Anyone here used a button/switch that isn't the factory VX TC button for their TC button install? Any pics? Reason I'm asking is that I will have a go at doing this but would see what other switches I can use or others have used, fancy something different. Any recommendations on what I can use and where I can get them? Oh, and I probably won't be using a TC harness as they don't sell it over here so plugging in the button wouldn't be a problem.

    Any help appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I don't see why another button wouldn't work - all it is is an on/off switch (that lights up). So IMO go for what ever button takes your fancy

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Had this dicussion with another member on here that won't be able to get a switch plate in the colour his console is in (standard i'll add)

    All the TC button does is send a negative to the ABS unit whenever it's pressed
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    x!'s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Another question I forgot to add; if you turn the TC off, will it stay off the next time I start my car? Or will it turn itself back on? If this is the case, I would need a momentary switch wouldn't I?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    TC will always be on when you first start the engine
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    To add a TC 'switch' you need a switch type that is either non-latching pushbutton or momentary. The factory version only closes the circuit when pressed, so each 'pulse' toggles the TC on or off. The ECU always reverts to TC on when the car is started, even if you make the input on all the time (I tried it). All you need to do on most cars is earth pin 31 on the ABS/Brake control connector and it will toggle on or off the TC.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    x!'s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve
    To add a TC 'switch' you need a switch type that is either non-latching pushbutton or momentary. The factory version only closes the circuit when pressed, so each 'pulse' toggles the TC on or off. The ECU always reverts to TC on when the car is started, even if you make the input on all the time (I tried it). All you need to do on most cars is earth pin 31 on the ABS/Brake control connector and it will toggle on or off the TC.
    Cheers, now I know what sort of switch I need... Now to find a suitable one

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    HSV4ME's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hey

    go to dick smith electronics they have them with a back light either red or blue thats what i used untill my factory switch arrived


    and the ones they sell are non lacthing type ill try to find the part number for ya


  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Nem's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    258
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just buy the switch/surround off Holden. It's really not that expensive.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    x!'s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I know, just wanted something a little different, that's all

    Something like this:
    http://www.frozencpu.com/images/prod...res/ele-70.jpg
    Its for a PC case but I'm sure I can adapt it to fit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •