Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: JBL Subwoofer

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Scorpio1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    JBL Subwoofer

    Just wondered if anyone can help?

    I just bought a JBL-GTO1202D sub and it has 4 connectors on it instead of the usual 2. I only want to run the 1 sub but no idea which wires inside the sub box to put to the sub, if that makes sense? 2 red 2 black.

    It comes standard with the middle two connected with a gold looking thing, I got a spare one too.

    Thanks for any help as I am stuck
    Silver Astra Coupe 2.2

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Assuming I've understood this right...

    Either it's a dual voice coil sub, or the connectors are piggy back connectors.

    You can connect it up in different ways to affect the ohms it runs at.

    Would have to look the sub up to tell you for sure definate.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    MK4_16V's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    447
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Found these about your sub which might help you...

    User manual in PDF

    Technical sheet in PDF

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Scorpio1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for the replies.

    The user manual isn't working But the thing is what ohms do I run it at for just one sub and amp?

    Wish there was just 2 plugs lol
    Silver Astra Coupe 2.2

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    depends what amp you use, if your running it from a 2 channel amp, off one of the channels, and one voice coil, then it'll be 4ohms, if you run both (2) channels bridged, then it'll half it to 2ohms.

    It's hard to explain this, so use this as a guide: http://www.phoenixgold.com/2004/wiringtutorial.html
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

Similar Threads

  1. Subwoofer in a mk5
    By afcbadam in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-06-2012, 22:38
  2. subwoofer
    By astra-boy-reece in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2011, 11:28
  3. New Subwoofer :)
    By Chidley in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 12:29
  4. Serious Subwoofer-age!
    By Keif in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13-05-2006, 16:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •