Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Standard Stereo - Preout?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Scorpio1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Standard Stereo - Preout?

    I know I should change the radio but haven’t got the funds at the mo and want to keep it OEM. Question is can I add RCA’s to the standard stereo at all?

    Thanks
    Silver Astra Coupe 2.2

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yup, you will need a speaker level convertor. Suggestions go from the Autoleads (C**p but last I looked around £10) to the Alpine 4311 (excellent and balanced line around £20-30) to the truely excellent like the Audiocontrol LC6 (£100 -£140), Xetec USc (£100) and the JL audio Cleansweep (£100 - ???).

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Scorpio1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cool thanks, so do I lose the use of the rear speakers or does that just plug in?
    Silver Astra Coupe 2.2

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No, you can still use the rear speakers but really depends on what you want to run.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You say the Auto leads converter is C@@P, but at 10% of the cost of the others is it fair to compare them?

    I have one fitted to the rear speaker lines on my stock unit to power an Alpine x over and amp for my sub and it does the job well.

    If that's all you want to do then you'll be happy with your £10 well spent.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Scorpio1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well I want to run a Vibe 10" I think around 600w... so it just hooks up to the speaker wires?

    Think I'm going shopping for this very soon...
    Silver Astra Coupe 2.2

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by K3FUS
    You say the Auto leads converter is C@@P, but at 10% of the cost of the others is it fair to compare them?

    I have one fitted to the rear speaker lines on my stock unit to power an Alpine x over and amp for my sub and it does the job well.

    If that's all you want to do then you'll be happy with your £10 well spent.
    Compared to the the expensive ones no as those are also line drivers and have some equalisation, but really they are the top end of the market when it comes to speaker converters and undoubtably the best. Have a listen to them you will see what I mean.

    But yes I would not buy the Autoleads one even at a thrid of the cost of the Alpine as I would rather spend the extra and get the Alpine which again just shows up the Autoleads one. Why I hear you say? simple really should you have say an expensive nav system in the car and you decide to use expensive components and amps you have less chance of the bad conversion being made glaringly obvious. The Alpine is very good and widely used for this purpose of course using the more expensive makes will make an even greater difference but then again as you noted they are 3 to 5 times the cost of the Alpine so you would generally only go that route if you wanted a top end system(on the assumtion that you are retaining the oem headunit).

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Scorpio1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just one question.. how do I get the remote wire? I thought the Alpine comes with a remote wire but not sure?
    Silver Astra Coupe 2.2

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Comes with a ground and a power Antenna.

Similar Threads

  1. Standard Car Stereo, HELP!!
    By Nath91 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2011, 02:32
  2. Preout Booster
    By Mitsta in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19-06-2005, 15:06
  3. how to fit non standard stereo MK3
    By greenlightracer in forum Electrical
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16-03-2004, 21:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •