Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Tomtom Navigator 5

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    GazNofx's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Tomtom Navigator 5

    I've just ordered the new Tomtom Navigator 5 from www.handtec.com, it looks pretty special.

    Anyone had any expereince with the Navigator range? Advantages/disadvantages? Ease of use? Accurate maps etc?

    Mine will be used on a XDAII.

    Cheers.



  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    How much are they charging you inc in total?

    If you don't mind me asking. I only question coz I may be able to get them for £190.

    My mates got one. The menus are alot better and the database of roads is far far greater but it takes a bit longer to load a route due to its huge database. Very good at finding alternative routes!!!

    cheers
    jam

    Cheer
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    GazNofx's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's £200 altogether,



  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GazNofx's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well I got it today and am pretty impressed. The navigation is easy and the maps seem fairly decent.

    Has anyone tried Tomtom traffic? Is it worth the moeny? What about GPRS costs on your mob?



  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    Your GPRS cost will depend upon how big the data is that is sent. You'll need to ask tom tom their average size as they won't have an exact figure as well as how often they send them. Then you'll have to look up your charges which will be dependant upon what tariff your on.


    I've never used the tom tom traffic. Usually I just turn the radio on and tell it to listen for traffic annoucements. Then hit alternative route avoiding the certain road. The crucial factor is how often your on the road and if you have time to listen to the T.A.

    Hope this helps a bit.
    jam
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GazNofx's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah good point Jam, I think i'll just keep to the radio for the traffic and adjust if there's a jam or a road block.

    GPRS could get quite expensive as well.



  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    andy11's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    had tom tom sat nav on my pda on my van - was wicked, only slight downside is that they are a bit slow to put new roads on - 99% of the time was spot on !! also changes ur route if u miss a turn. good toy to have !!
    Andy

Similar Threads

  1. tomtom one VS Road Angel Navigator
    By A5TRA 59ORT in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 12:38
  2. tomtom navigator 5 for pda
    By gRoberts in forum Car Chat (other marques/models)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-12-2005, 22:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •