Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

A real ice system

Hi peeps,

Now I have an idea that i want some views on before i go all out and try it.

The wife will kill me for doing this if I go to do it.

Basically i'm an it tech by trade and hobby, and my father owns a computer business. I currently have a cube ( very small pc ), and I am looking to fit my car with one.

I'm looking at purchasing a 7" tft touchscreen to fit in, and run all my ice from the computer, but I need a way of getting the sound to the speakers.

I have the original cdr-500 untouched as of yet, and my other head unit the jvc kd-g701. Now as far as I know, my JVC has an aux out but not in. And i haven't looked at the cdr-500, does anyone know of a way to get sound into these?

As I wouldn't mind keeping the unit for standard radio, although I have a USB tv/radio hub that I can plug in and use the aerial on the car for. Which means total tft control.

Has anyone seen any previous attempts of this and was it successful.

I don't want some CHAV or as we call them Charver nicking me car with all that shit in, as my dad won't be able to get me the tft screen I would have to pay for that my self :S.

The screen is 12v powered as standard - computer will run off an invertor, no mouse or keyboard as it will all be on screen ( great mp3 and video finding ) Sound will hopefully be channeled into an existing head unit some how.

So if anyone has found a link to somewhere that has this done, let me know so I can start looking into costs for convertors etc.

Also let me know what you think on the idea and originallity?

Cheers

Gav

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    For starters leothehamster on here would probably be your best bet on the in-car pc info front. Check out these links for some inspiration/information:

http://www.talkaudio.co.uk/vbb/showt...ghlight=in-car