Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: What size amp will i need?!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Jacklin2001's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    What size amp will i need?!

    I am considering buying 3 12" Pioneer TSW305C 800W subs and a pair of Pioneer TS-A6911 330W 6x9's. What size amp will i need to run all of these? i want it to be a Pioneer amp to go with all the speakers i am after. Thanks, Andy

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    A5TRA 59ORT's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,202
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    i would say two amps one for the subs and one for the 6x9's

    i would suggest a class D mono amp for the subs as these are designed purly with subs in mind and as a result are stable at low impedances most are stable down to 1ohm

    therefore see if pioneer do an amp which can deliver 2KW at 1ohm

    as for the 6x9 a regular 2 or 4 channel amp will be plenty

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Jacklin2001's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i was looking for a cheaper option upto £150. will any other amp be useful for the subs? how powerful should the amps be to run the subs and 6x9's? thanks for the advice A5TRA 59ORT its just that i arent after an expensive install to start with. Thanks, Andy

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You need to match up the RMS figures when choosing an amp.
    I reckon you're pushing your luck asking for one below/around £150 to run the 3 though. Wait another month and save for a better budget.

    Oh, I'd recommend not using 6x9s unless your gonna run your system with the boot oopen all the time.
    Normal method is to use good components up front, and subs at back. original rears can provide rear fill.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jacklin2001's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok thanks for the replies i was gonna buy components aswell as 6x9's but ill take your advice and just have 3 subs and decent components in the front. Thanks, Andy

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Why 3 subs?
    If you wire them in parallel then you will get a 1.333ohm load. A bit low for many conventional amplifiers.
    Whatever amp you plan to get, ensure it is designed to run into a very low impedance load.

    Oh, and as COO quite rightly says, steer well clear of 6x9's if you want decent sound quality.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Jacklin2001's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i am having 3 subs to go in with the design of my install. i have got the design planned out but was just wondering what amp i should use? would this amp run all three subs? http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_...onomy_id=25-29

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    IMO you'd be better off with just 2 subs and using the spare cash towards better amps - it's false economy to go for 3 subs and then buying cheap amps - you'll never be happy with the sound and end up buying another one anyway!

    Don't think that the amp on the link is anywhere near powerful enough!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Jacklin2001's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok i had a look around for more powerful ones and came across this one. http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_...onomy_id=25-29 i have seen it for sale for £205 plus post and packaging. The price would be about right but would it be powerful enough to run the 3 subs i mentioned?

    I have made my mind up already what the install will look like and i am still going to go forward with the 3 subs but thanks for the advice Scottyboy.

    Thanks, Andy

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Blackastrasxi's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    204
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    them subs aint gonna do nothing !! your mono block will kill em a 1ohm believe me.

    you wanna go for an alpine m300 d mono block amp!

    if your gonna use them pioneer subs!!

    watch the gain though!!


    i 'm running a 1000w rms rockford fosgate monoblock and 2x 12 audiobahn subs at 700wrms each sub!! and it is on low and it thudds the back window out !! got pics if anyone wants to post em

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Full Size Spare Size
    By Chewy. in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 18-02-2013, 11:40
  2. Size of mk4 Rear Bake Drum, Pipe nut size?
    By stu2525uk in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-08-2011, 19:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •