Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Handbrake lead

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Handbrake lead

    I've decided on getting a Sony M9900 Head Unit. This has an aux in for dvd - but apparantly it has a handbrake lead so that you can only play dvd's when the handbrake is on?! - anyone know what signal this lead requires? how can I bypass it?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe t1m's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,974
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    not sure how u could bypass it electronically...but the handbrake sensor is just like a small push device. When the handbrake is on..this releases the sensor in order for the light to come on. If you werent too worried about the light coming on when ur handbrake is on u could adjust the device so that is permantly 'released'. Although if i were u, i think would prefer to find a way to bypass it as u sed, otherwise its all abit of a bodge!!
    1.9CDTi (150) SRi XP Sportshatch
    Heated Leather Seats - Cruise Control - Climate Control - 18" Pentas - Auto Light & Sight - Electrical Folding Mirrors - Sat Nav

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    adwhitworth's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just don't connect it. We had this on the Pioneer AVIC-X1 in Dad's old Mitsubishi Space Star. The guy who installed it left it off.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The handbrake wire just goes to earth when on so connect direct to the earth lead of the headunit
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Same as on the Centurion flip out screen, just earth it and it bypasses it.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers Andy - knew someone wouldn't be too pissed yet on a Firday night to give me the right answer!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Scottyboy
    cheers Andy - knew someone wouldn't be too pissed yet on a Firday night to give me the right answer!
    Unlike last friday with the bad infulences of Stella
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks
    Unlike last friday with the bad infulences of Stella
    lol m8 - you know what happens when Jack and Stella get together!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    dtm_chris's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,108
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Yep, earthing it on Alpine head units works aswell.
    Now drives : 2002 Astra SRi Turbo in Black
    PREVIOUS ASTRA'S : 1990 GTE 2.0 8v | 1993 1.4 GLS | 1994 1.6 Cesaro | 1995 1.8 16v Sport

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    astragsiturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,643
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dtm_chris
    Yep, earthing it on Alpine head units works aswell.
    yep that the easiet way. its how i've done mine
    life's to fast to go slow. so get the turbo.

Similar Threads

  1. where can i run my sub lead ?????
    By bradshaw1759 in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-03-2010, 14:54
  2. AUX Lead Help
    By Al in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-05-2004, 20:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •