Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Chipping Z20LET

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    s1ggm's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Chipping Z20LET

    Thinking of getting my Astra SRi Turbo chipped been looking at Wallace Performance who do the chips and send it through the post to be fitted ! anyone had experience of this?

    Im in North Yorkshire does anyone know of anywhere that does VMAX or EDS Chips

    Are they the best ones to have ?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Do a search on the subject - they have all been done to death on here.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    smitht's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,255
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Don't Cossvaux do EDS remaps?
    (Previously owned a SRi-Turbo Phase III.5 running 290bhp 370ibft
    AUDI Sales Executive

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    s1ggm's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Not Sure, I Think Vmax Are The Way Forward, But Im Interested In The Mail Order Ones And Getting Someone To Fit Them Rather Than Driving Down. Is There Any Disadvantage To This Or Is Each Chip Customised To My Car Or Are They Generic For The Z20let

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    T-bone's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,403
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yes - Cossvaux do EDS
    Me run tings.... not tings run me!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    T-bone's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,403
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the VMAX ECU they send to you will be a generic map for the engine - you'll have to take yours out and send it back to them
    Me run tings.... not tings run me!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Griff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,033
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    errrrrrrrrrrrrr- i'm 99% sure that the car needs a re-map not a replacement chip!

    so sending a chip in the post then getting your soldering iron out is a thing of the past.
    look on the AMD web site for some info and advice, price etc...
    Astra '01 1.8 SXI - 19's, Koni's, Irmscher everything! *SOLD*
    BMW '04 325 Sport

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you sends your ECU to them, they flash it and send it back. Dave D did it to Regals and had it back in like 2-3 days all done

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    T-bone's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,403
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Griff
    errrrrrrrrrrrrr- i'm 99% sure that the car needs a re-map not a replacement chip!

    so sending a chip in the post then getting your soldering iron out is a thing of the past.
    look on the AMD web site for some info and advice, price etc...
    Been around long enough to know mate!
    Me run tings.... not tings run me!

Similar Threads

  1. 1.6T chipping anyone?
    By nickfearn in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 09:28
  2. ECU Chipping
    By brainreyd in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 16:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •