Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: cams

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    cams

    well my car is coming up for the 40k mark now and im going to change the cams and the waterpump etc, but my question is will it be worth putting kent cams in a 1.4 16v? will it increase the bhp or anything or am i better off with the standard cams?

    thanks in advance for your help

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    why do u have to change the cams? sorry didnt know u had 2!
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you dont i dont think but if im doing the cam belt i thought i would cahnge them too

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Changing cams will give more power but you may lose driveablity as a result - so make sure you only go for fast road, and nothing too wild. I stuck rally cams in a previous car and there was nothing below 4000 revs.

    I'd advise you get vernier pulleys as well so you can get the timing spot on

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Big_Up_Vauxhall's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    701
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As above, fitting a performance cam will sacrifice low down torque, and make the idle lumpy.
    My mk3,117K, and the engine is still going strong
    shame about the car shell tho,lol.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GazNofx's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Big_Up_Vauxhall
    As above, fitting a performance cam will sacrifice low down torque, and make the idle lumpy.
    Yeah ditto...

    Though cams can be a lot of fun, I had a Kent cam on a Nova and the idle was SO lumpy that after about 30 seconds the car would stall.

    Not worth it in my opinion.

Similar Threads

  1. vectra cams or astra cams
    By smi565 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 18:18
  2. cams...help
    By renga in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-03-2008, 10:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •