Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Resetting INSP

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Feeler's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Resetting INSP

    Anyone know how to reset the INSP message on the dash when the car is due for a service?

    Reason is I've just replaced the engine and it's had a couple of oil changes since, I don't see any reason in paying a further £200 on top of the £2k of work I've had done.
    =====
    2.0 DTI
    =====

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    This info would cost you £2.99 to get off ebay, but to members of Astra-Sport it's free.

    To reset the INSP message, press and hold in the mileage reset button, whilst turning your igntion on, but dont start the car, just turn the ignition til the dash lights come on, then it should go (----), and then clear. It will then show your trip mileage again!!!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Feeler's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Smile

    Cheers for that ! Muchly appreciated.
    =====
    2.0 DTI
    =====

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    MikeWarner's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What if you have satnav and therefore no trip reset button? On the satnav it is done though a menu and you simply select reset on the screen - no holding down is involved.

    Oh - mine says INSP for a moment when I start up - does this mean is needs a service? It is up to date on services too - so it would be strange if it is telling me to service it.
    8 Astras in a row! Can Anyone Beat That?
    Star Silver Astra Sporthatch SRi XP 1.9 CDTi (150PS)
    A Vauxhall site about Vauxhalls.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    MikeWarner's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Doh - mileage reset button!!!! I thought you meant trip distance reset like in the trip computer - doh! I'll give it a try.
    8 Astras in a row! Can Anyone Beat That?
    Star Silver Astra Sporthatch SRi XP 1.9 CDTi (150PS)
    A Vauxhall site about Vauxhalls.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    7-up's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    223
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    wot about resetting the litte car with spanner light that comes on, my gfs corsa has just been serviced by vx but this light still comes on, anyway of resetting it with taking it back to them?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    MikeWarner's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Try the same thing above - probably the same on all Vauxhalls.
    8 Astras in a row! Can Anyone Beat That?
    Star Silver Astra Sporthatch SRi XP 1.9 CDTi (150PS)
    A Vauxhall site about Vauxhalls.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Simon-DTi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,463
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The corsa I had as a loaner had InSP on the screen like the astras do, I think the light with the spanner is a engine management light so you'd need to get it checked by vx

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    MikeWarner's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I tried this at lunch time - worked a treat. cheers.
    8 Astras in a row! Can Anyone Beat That?
    Star Silver Astra Sporthatch SRi XP 1.9 CDTi (150PS)
    A Vauxhall site about Vauxhalls.

Similar Threads

  1. After resetting insp
    By tiedeye in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23-04-2010, 08:46
  2. Key Fob DIY resetting
    By M4th3m4t1kz in forum Electrical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 18:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •