Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Info Wanted on Delco CDR500 Radio/CD Coding

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mikedes's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Info Wanted on Delco CDR500 Radio/CD Coding

    Hi there, can anyone tell me how the Delco CDR500 Radio/CD player is coded?
    I removed the unit a couple of days ago for a short while and when I replaced it everything still worked fine.
    Was that due to the fact that It was only disconnected for about half an hour or is it just that the security coding is in the detachable front and you don't have to key in numbers on this model?

    Regards, MikeDes

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I think in the instructions it gives you a way of turning the code feature off, may be wrong though

    Usually just unplugging them for 10 seconds causes it to go coded
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mikedes's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Autosparks, unfortunately I don't have a manual for the radio, can anyone else confirm this as I need to take the unit out again but I'm a bit worried cos I don't have a code should I need one.

    Regards, MikeDes

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    There are 2 pages in my owners booklet, i'd scan them in for you to read if I could

    Maybe someone else could???

    It goes on about decoding the unit but it doesn't make sense to me
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Boro Paul's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Autosparks is right, you can turn the code feature off so that you can remove it without entering the code again, when you take the facia off if the red led aint flashing then its been turned off.
    Wants an Arden Blue GSI

    Now!!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mikedes's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Boro Paul
    Autosparks is right, you can turn the code feature off so that you can remove it without entering the code again, when you take the facia off if the red led aint flashing then its been turned off.
    Boro Paul, I guess that probably means someone has turned it off then, where is the LED in question?

    Regards, MikeDes

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The LED is in the same button you use to take the small front panel off with
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MarkC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,813
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    mikedes's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    MarkC, it do'esent at the moment but it may well in the future, very usefull many thanks.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mikedes's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Incidentally I originally took the radio out shortly after I got the car as it was loose in the dash, didn't work and the black plastic front that the code block fits into was loose.

    When I pulled the unit out of the dash the metal housing which should be bolted to the inside to the dash came out with it.

    I discovered the aerial plug was not connected to the radio as it was incompatible and the lead was also too short to reach the radio socket.

    To cut a long story short I got hold of some screws to hold the plastic front on lashed up a temporary aerial and the unit now works sweet as a nut.

    I haven't screwed the metal housing to the inside of the dash yet as I have a problem understanding the correct aerial connection.

    The power connector snaps into the back of the metal housing OK but the aerial lead only comes out of the loom 75mm or so and would'nt fit the socket of the radio even if it reached.

    I'm guessing that there might be a short extension cable which connects to the aerial then fits into the round hole in the back of the metal housing.

    OR

    Someone has modded the aerial connection for a different radio than slapped the old one back in to sell the car without changing the aerial connector back.

    It would be usefull if I could find out what the correct aerial connector is and where I might get one, the one that's fitted at present is the common type that's been around for years.

    Any Ideas would be greatfully recieved.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Delco cdr500 radio codes
    By z20letMatt in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 09:29
  2. Entering a Delco CDR500 radio code?
    By Ciaran in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2008, 20:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •